What next?

So, Autumn is upon us.  It matters little that we’re not ready or that the Summer wasn’t long enough because the nights are drawing in and so with that in mind this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Top Ten Books for Fall/Autumn 2015.  Stop over at the Broke and Bookish for more on this topic.

I find that I read quite a lot of dark and creepy books throughout the year to be honest – I just like that type of novel!  But, I do like to step it up a little as Halloween approaches.

  1. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – I haven’t read the Grisha series although i do have the books (one day when I invent a time turner for real) I love the look and sound of this book – can’t wait
  2. The Flux by Ferrett Steinmetz – I simply loved the Flex so can’t wait for this one.
  3. The Beast of Barcroft by Bill Schweigart – dont’ know what to expect with this one but the title and premise is very intriguing.
  4. The Geomancer by Clay and Susan Griffiths – excellent Vampire series with two very strong main protagonists.
  5. Red Delicious by Kathleen Tierney – nasty, urban vampires and all sorts of other creatures.
  6. The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black – I love Holly Black and I’ve been waiting to read this one.
  7. Horns by Joe Hill – still not read Joe Hill but bought this book with Autumn in mind so hopefully….
  8. Beyond Black by Hilary Mantel – this is a lesser known book by this author but I loved the sound of this – it sounds very dark.
  9. Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry – had this one waiting for a while now – this seems like a good opportunity and having just read Deadlands by this author I’m quite keen to read more of his books.
  10. …………………..I’m leaving this blank so that everyone can recommend something to blow my socks off.  I want something dark and creepy, I fancy something with either ghosts or witches (or both!)

That is all for me this week. What do you have on your autumn list – do you change your style to reflect the time of year??

19 Responses to “What next?”

  1. rosemawrites

    Nice list. I would recommend hmmm… Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon. 🙂

    BTW, here’s my list :http://wp.me/p4ZhSl-fw. 🙂

  2. proxyfish

    I definitely need more creepy books for this Halloween! Great list Lynn!

    • lynnsbooks

      Thanks – creepy books are great at this time of the year.
      Lynn 😀

  3. DJ (@MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape)

    I read Horn’s last October! It’s a good story for Halloween 🙂

    For something dark and creepy I’d go with We Are All Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory, and for a ghost story, you can’t go wrong with The Shining.

    • lynnsbooks

      I have to read Joe Hill! I read the Shining either last year or the year before and it was great. I’ll go and have a look at Daryl Gregory.
      Lynn 😀

  4. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Great list! I’m really looking forward to checking out Six of Crows as well. And Flux! I’m so glad I got to read Flex this year, to think I almost missed out on that. Also you reminded me I have to read the third Vampire Empire book soon to catch up to The Geomancer. I hear it’s not necessary, but I love being a completionist 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Yes, I’ve started Flux. Flex was definitely one of my favourite books this year. And I’m also reading Kingmakers – nearly finished. I agree – You have to complete the series!
      Lynn 😀

  5. Allyson

    Some interesting things on your list! I added a couple to my own TBR 🙂 Have you read The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall? I’m reading it right now, and it’s pretty creepy!

    My “TTT.

    • lynnsbooks

      Hi – no, I’ve not read the Hysteria Hall book – I’ll go and take a look.
      Thanks
      Lynn 😀

  6. Carrie

    The creepiest book I ever read was The Dollhouse Murders by Betty Ren Wright. It’s an old one – published in 1987 – but I read it again in college and still got freaked out by it lol. My TTT

    • lynnsbooks

      Thanks Carrie – I shall go and have a look at the Dollhouse Murders – sounds creepy to be sure!
      Lynn 😀

  7. Sam Frost

    I just finished Flex the other day and it was so very good; I’m glad to have found someone else who enjoyed it. I’m also looking forward to The Flux.

    • lynnsbooks

      I loved Flex. Currently reading Flux and so far so good – although I’m only about 15/20% in.
      Lynn 😀

  8. jessicabookworm

    I hope you enjoy your Autumnal reads. In Autumn I tend to read more mysterious and darker books, which is why the R.I.P event is perfect for me 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      I like the idea of darker books at this time of the year. I haven’t posted any of my books yet on RIP – I’ve definitely read a few that count! I need to get my act together.
      Lynn 😀

  9. Barb(boxermommyreads)

    I just put The Beast of Barcroft on my TBR. Your list looks great and I hope you enjoy them.

    • lynnsbooks

      Thanks – I hope you enjoy the Beast – it certainly feels like a good time of year to be reading that type of story.
      Lynn 😀

Leave a comment