August brings the sheaves of corn…

Posted On 2 September 2015

Filed under Book Reviews
Tags:

Comments Dropped 11 responses

My monthly round up – what I’ve read/plan to read, any events, etc:

Books read:

  1. Skin by Ilka Tampke
  2. Blade of the Broken by Jake Scholl (review to follow)
  3. Dawnbreaker by Jay Posey
  4. The Weight of a Crown by Tavish Kaeden
  5. Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray
  6. Twelve Kings by Bradley P Beaulieu
  7. Updraft by Fran Wilde
  8. Duchess of the Shallows by Neil McGarry and Daniel Ravipinto (review to follow)
  9. Thief of Hope by Cindy Young Turner (review to follow)
  10. Iduna by Maya Michaels (review to follow)
  11. Forging Divinity by Andrew Rowe (review to follow)
  12. The Bloodbound by Erin Lindsey (review to follow)

(Oh dear – behind with reviews!! Need to catch up)

Backlist:

None

Unfinished series completed:

Dawnbreaker by Jay Posey

Books Bought:

  1. Nice Dragons Finish Last by Rachel Aaron

Review Books:

  1. The Beast of Barcroft by Bill Schweigart
  2. An Apprentice to Elves by Elizabeth Bear and Sarah Monette
  3. Owl and the City of Angels by Kristi Charish
  4. The Flux by Ferrett Steinmetz
  5. Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho
  6. The Traitor by Seth Dickinson
  7. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Cover Spotlight:  (I love both of these)

US or UK cover:?? (US for me with this one – not fond of the UK cover tbh)

Events:

Backlist Backburn is an end of month event organised by Lisa at Tenacious Reader. If you’ve caught up on any of your backlist then call over and link up.   I find this a good incentive to dust off some of my books!  This month I read the Erin Lindsey book but didn’t review it in time so will include it for September’s backburn.

Top Ten Tuesday at The Broke and Bookish (every Tuesday).   I actually missed this week’s topic.

Tough Travel by Nathan at the Fantasy Review Barn 

Finished round one of the SPFBO – my entry for round 2 – The Weight of a Crown by Tavish Kaeden

11 Responses to “August brings the sheaves of corn…”

  1. thecurioussffreader

    Good luck with all the reviews ! I also prefer the US cover of The Traitor, I am supposed to read it this month and I’ve heard really great things about it. 🙂 I also plan on reading Twelve Kings because I have read so many great reviews of it (including yours) so I can’t wait 😀

  2. Danya @ Fine Print

    Behind With Reviews: The Book Blogger Story. Haha but seriously though, you read some real winners this month! I’m excited to hear what you thought of The Bloodbound…and Nice Dragons Finish Last, once you read that one. And Bitterblue is really good so far too, btw. 😀

    • lynnsbooks

      I hadn’t realised you started reading Bitter Blue – I know, I know, you said Monday but I was waiting to see if you said ‘1, 2, 3, go….’ Lol
      I’ve started it now. Where you up to.

  3. Tammy

    Wow, you read so many books, I’m jealous! I do love the cover of The Flux, I need to start that series!! And I’ve heard so many great things about The Traitor Baru Cormorant, I need to get myself a copy of that:-)

    • lynnsbooks

      I had to – I had to get on with my SPFBO titles or I would have been in big doo doo. I’m really looking forward to The Traitor. You should definitely try to make space to read Flex/Flux – so good.
      Lynn 😀

  4. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    I feel like I’m falling behind with reviews! Think it happens to everyone 🙂 I’\m looking forward to the next phase of SPFBO

    • lynnsbooks

      Yep – I have the next 9 books now waiting to be read! I’m hoping for some good ones. I actually really enjoyed Weight of a Crown
      Lynn 😀

  5. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Haha, I was just commenting on your Twelve Kings in Sharakhai post the other day how it’s cool that it’s known as just “Twelve Kings” in the UK. So The Traitor Baru Cormorant is just “The Traitor” in the UK too, lol. Just found that interesting 🙂 The covers are a tough call. I’m not really feeling the UK one, but the US cover creeps me out a little, to be honest!

    • lynnsbooks

      Haha – don’t think we can cope with long titles in the UK! I actually like the creepy cover for some reason.
      Lynn 😀

  6. jessicabookworm

    Wow, as usual you’ve finished so many books! Having time off work I have managed to read more than my usual amount. I hope you enjoy all your new review copies. As for covers I love An Apprentice to Elves cover. Not sure I particularly like either the US or UK cover for The Traitor though.

    Happy September and reading 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah, I had to get a budge on because it was the last month for the SPFBO and I was still undecided! Then it all came together.
      Lynn 😀

Leave a comment