It goes without saying…

b2bf5-toptentuesday2

This week over at the Broke and Bookish the topic for Top Ten Tuesday is:

‘Top Ten Of Your Auto-buy Authors’

This is going to be a fairly short and sweet post for me basically because it’s easy – certain authors I always look out for and will always be interested in what they’re up to next:

  1. Mark Lawrence – I love his writing.
  2. Neil Gaiman – magical, whimsical
  3. Sarah Pinborough – great sense of humour, lovely writing, naughty
  4. Kate Atkinson – consistently great books
  5. Wesley Chu – very original, I loved his Tao books and his Time Salvager was also excellent
  6. Patrick Rothfuss – doesn’t really need a comment!
  7. Alice Hoffman – she’s one of my earlier fantasy novelists, great storyteller
  8. Maggie O’Farrell – lots of goodies so far
  9. Scott Lynch – Jean Tannen – enough.
  10. Joanne Harris – I really like her books – especially Chocolat (who wouldn’t), Blackberry Wine, Coastliners and Holy Fools

Easy! Β I have lots of authors who I enjoy reading – a lot – but the authors above I always keep an eye out for what they’re up to next. Β What about you – who are your auto buys???

36 Responses to “It goes without saying…”

  1. Jazmin Jade

    I just bought Volume 1 of Neil Gaiman’s Sandman Omnibus. Its probably one of the most beautiful things I own. Great list πŸ™‚

    • lynnsbooks

      The graphics are amazing. I’m jealous of you. I’m working my way (albeit slowly) through the Sandman and loving it. It’s so dark.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  2. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    Great list! There’s a couple on here that will be on my list, and actually, a couple I haven’t heard of that I need to go look up!

    • lynnsbooks

      A few of these are authors from way back when that I still look out for – they’re not particularly fantasy but I just like them – Kate Atkinson and Maggie O’Farrell in particular.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  3. Tammy

    We have a couple of the same authors. And I totally forgot about Kate Atkinson. Doh!

    • lynnsbooks

      I do like Kate Atkinson – she is one of my older love authors but recently she’s also branched a little into light fantasy – Life After Life – which was really good.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  4. proxyfish

    Pat Rothfuss and Scott Lynch made mine too! I also love Neil Gaiman and Mark Lawrence but still have a few to wade through. Great list! My TTT.

    • lynnsbooks

      I love Patrick Rothfuss’s writing – I think I’d read his shopping list if he decided to chuck it out there!
      Lynn πŸ˜€

      • proxyfish

        I honestly would too. I can’t imagine anyone disliking his work! And his beard is rather fabulous too.

      • lynnsbooks

        Yes indeed – he could put a viking to shame!

  5. Leona

    Nice list! We have a few in common πŸ™‚ I really should read Neil Gaiman, too!

    • lynnsbooks

      I think you’d love Gaiman – although it depends what you pick up. He has a very whimsical writing style – for some of his books. He’s also very dark in some of his others. Sandman is a great series that I’m slowly working my way through. It’s very dark and the graphics are amazing.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

      • Leona

        I was planning to start with American Gods then read Sandman, Neverwhere and the Ocean in the End of the Lane. I need to finish the pile of delicious grimdark first, but I feel so behind for not yet reading any Gaiman books.

      • lynnsbooks

        I still haven’t read American Gods – which also feels a bit bad somehow!
        Lynn πŸ˜€

  6. Carrie

    I had such a hard time narrowing down my list this week lol My TTT

  7. LHauser27

    I forgot about Alice Hoffman. I love her books! Great list πŸ™‚

  8. bookstogetlostin

    I’ve only read Patrick Rothfuss as of now, but I really enjoyed his books.

    • lynnsbooks

      OMG – he’s a fantastic author – I wish that his third book was somewhere on the horizon, but, at the end of the day I can wait! You can’t rush genius.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  9. DJ (@MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape)

    I’ve only read two of these authors, but they were your #1 and #2! So, I guess that counts for something? πŸ™‚

    • lynnsbooks

      Absolutely it does! We’ve probably got loads more in common – these are just the authors I keep my beady eye on.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  10. vacuouswastrel

    I… don’t have any, anymore. Robin Hobb’s Fitz novels are must-buys for me, but will I automatically rush out and buy her next series when it comes out? Can’t promise I will. Still haven’t read ‘soldier son’.

    Similarly Pratchett – perhaps you could excuse my not having read Raising Steam because I was (am!) in the middle of a total re-read of his work and didn’t want to read it out of order. But I also didn’t read Maurice or the Tiffany books. And I never did buy either Making Money or Unseen Academicals (borrowed them both, but not immediately). And then there’s the non-Discworld – didn’t read Nation, or Dodger, or the Long Earth…

    There were people I automatically bought when I was a kid – Gemmell, Eddings, etc – but I gradually dropped them all, either because I got tired of them or because they died, or at least finished the series I was reading…

    • lynnsbooks

      I have read Pratchett’s Tiffany series which was great and I’ve also read Nation but other than that I’m useless and haven’t read the Discworld at all.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

      • vacuouswastrel

        So in fact you’ve read most of the Pratchett that I haven’t read, and I’ve read most of the Pratchett that you haven’t read, but we haven’t ever read the same book…. how improbable!
        [And temporary, as I’m currently reading the first Tiffany book…]

      • lynnsbooks

        I hope you like the Tiffany series – I think they’re great. Will look out for your thoughts.
        Lynn πŸ˜€

  11. Stephen P. Bianchini

    How could I have left out Gaiman in mine? Thanks for this one Lynn – I’ve posted one too this week πŸ™‚

    • lynnsbooks

      Yes, I stopped on by – very interesting list, that has added to my groaning wishlist.

  12. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    I agree with a lot of these! Or many of them are like auto-buy series, I guess – Gentlemen Bastard, Kingkiller, etc! πŸ™‚

    • lynnsbooks

      Yep – that’s the thing with series – you have to have them lined up!
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  13. jessicabookworm

    When I go in my favourite, charity bookshop I am always on the look out for Daphne du Maurier, Terry Pratchett, Susanna Kearsley, Eva Ibbotson and C S Lewis. If I see anything by these authors I HAVE to treat myself to it πŸ™‚

    • lynnsbooks

      Great choices – I especially love DuMaurier.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  14. Danya @ Fine Print

    LOL your Jean love is so strong! Kate Atkinson and Alice Hoffman are two authors that I’ve read a lot from and enjoyed, but weirdly enough I haven’t read anything of theirs since I started blogging. Thanks for reminding me to get to them! πŸ™‚

    • lynnsbooks

      Haha, yes it is – Jean love! Alice Hoffman wrote a very different (for her) book called the Dovekeepers – it was really good – not really fantasy.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

Leave a comment