Fly my pretties, fly!

Flying Monkeys

This week over at the Fantasy Review Barn Nathan is once again guiding us through the tropes of fantasy in Touch Travels.  This week the topic for discussion is:

FLYING RIDES

Because honestly?  Horses just got boring.  (Thanks to author Anne Leonard for the suggestion).

Surely, surely I’ve read a book with a winged horse – if I have, well, it’s escaped me!  Here are this week’s choices:

Eagles – giant eagles – LoTR by Tolkin.  Why on earth would you walk all the way to Mordor when you could fly – that would have been a ridiculously short book though!

Bats – huge bats (that talk).  Smilers Fair by Rebecca Levine.  

Dragons – Dragonflight by Anne McCaffrey – the clue is in the title!  The dragonriders and the dragons share a special bond – and they’re capable of much more than just flight!

Wyverns – The Iron Ghost by Jen Williams – the Narhl people ride on Wyverns – which is actually pretty cool!

‘I think he may let you ride him now’

Buckbeak from the Prisoner of Azkaban by J K Rowling

Join us next week for ‘New Beginnings’

13 Responses to “Fly my pretties, fly!”

  1. jessicabookworm

    Great minds think a like! I too have the eagles, Buckbeak and dragons…although my dragons are from different books 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Tolkien and Rowling to the rescue. I tried to come up with a couple of others for good measure. I forgot about the Weasley’s car until I’d posted. And then I also remembered Tiffany Aching and her broomsticks.
      Lynn 😀

  2. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    I forgot about Buckbeak, but I did think of the flying car (but only after I made my list 🙂 ) Great picks!

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah, I remembered the flying car – after I’d posted!
      Lynn 😀

  3. Danya @ Fine Print

    Just when I think I’ve got all the good ones, you go and include the eagles! THE EAGLES! Classic. Wyverns are pretty awesome too, I don’t know that I’ve ever read a book with them before.

    • lynnsbooks

      You need to read the Jen Williams books – she has such a wonderful imagination and the Iron Ghost introduces a race who fly on Wyverns and share a special connection/bond with their own flying beast.
      Lynn 😀

  4. maddalena@spaceandsorcery

    LOL about the eagles and the way they would have cheated us of a long but enthralling journey… 🙂 🙂

  5. rudejasper

    There are also giant bats in the Gregor the Overlander books by Suzanne Collins and I was so fascinated by them. Bats are such acrobatic flyers I think it would be terrifying but exhilarating to fly on one!

    • lynnsbooks

      Definitely terrifying. You’d need to be fastened on very securely!

  6. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Ooh, I don’t remember the wyverns in Jen Williams’ series, but maybe they were only in The Iron Ghost? I haven’t read book two yet – need to get on that 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      They were in the Iron Ghost. We are introduced to a couple of new races and the Narhls (not sure of that spelling) ride on Wyverns. At least I think they were Wyverns! Bloody hell. Perhaps I better go back and check. They definitely flew around on something and it wasn’t dragons.

  7. Hot July brings cooling showers… |

    […] Tough Travel by Nathan at the Fantasy Review Barn  (every Thursday) this week’s topic ‘Flying Rides’ […]

Leave a comment