“Our lives are all different and yet the same.” (Anne Frank)

b2bf5-toptentuesday2

This week at the Broke and Bookish the topic for discussion is:

Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity/Diverse Characters

  1. In Midnight’s Silence by Teresa Frohock a book where the main character is not only a mixed race (Daemon/Angel) but he is also gay and partner to one of the nephilim (part angel/part human).
  2. The Tower Lord by Anthony Ryan – in which we meet the character Reva who seeks revenge for her father’s death.  Reva has been brought up in the religion of the World Father, she’s a conflicted character – being a lesbian and strict worshipper of a faith in which same sex relationships are not tolerated.
  3. Half a King by Joe Abercrombie – in which the main character Yarvi was born with one of his hands badly deformed and in a world where your sword arm is valued above everything else this definitely places him at a disadvantage in this harsh world.
  4. The Copper Promise by Jen Williams – Sir Sebastian is a fallen knight who was cast out of his order because he’s gay – he is a fantastic character to read about and a strong favourite of mine.
  5. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller – unsurprisingly a book about Achilles and his lover Patroclus.
  6. Zoo City by Lauren Beukes – in which the main character is a South African woman called Zinzi who has been ‘animalled’ – by way of punishment for a crime she has been convicted of.  This is an alternate South Africa where criminals are magically attached to an animal familiar.
  7. Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey – in which the main character Phedre has romantic connections to both a male and female character during the story.  Terra d’Ange was created by Elua who is known for his motto “Love as thou wilt”.
  8. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime by Mark Haddon in which the main character suffers from certain behavioural difficulties that are never particularly named but appear similar to Aspergers or Autism.
  9. Game of Thrones by GRRMartin –  Tyrion Lannister – also known as the ‘imp’ or ‘half man’ – Tyrion is a dwarf, born to the powerful house of Lannister – he doesn’t really need any introduction!  Definitely one of my favourite characters from the series.
  10. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N K Jemisin – Yeine is half Arameri and half Darre – born to a mother disgraced and cut off from her own royal beginnings for marrying beneath her status.  Yeine is looked down upon and despised by her Arameri relatives who consider her to be little short of a barbarian.

26 Responses to ““Our lives are all different and yet the same.” (Anne Frank)”

  1. bookstogetlostin

    1, 6 and 7 are now on my tbr list. It keeps growing and growing.

    • lynnsbooks

      That’s the thing with TTT! Mount TBR. Oh well, it’s very satisfying collecting books, even if you can’t possibly read ALL of them.
      Lynn 😀

  2. kayceek

    I really want to start read Game of Thrones! Good lists.
    Please fell free to read mine here http://wonderstruck-kcks.blogspot.com/2015/07/july-21-ten-books-that-celebrate.html Happy Summer Reading!

    • lynnsbooks

      I’ve only read the first one but it was very good. I hope you find the time to fit it in.
      Lynn 😀

  3. Katrina

    ‘The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night Time’ is a great choice and one I have seen on a lot of lists! I’ve watched the play a couple of times and really enjoyed it!

    Check out my Top Ten Tuesday list!

    Also, please take the time to see what I posted last week!

    Katrina @ Chased By My Imagination

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah, I was glad that one popped into my mind. It’s a very interesting story.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Lynn 😀

  4. hlmorris85

    I tried to focus specifically on adult fantasy and scifi this time, so I can’t believe Tyrion slipped my mind!

    • lynnsbooks

      Do you know he only just came to mind minutes before I saved my post. In fact I had a different book at the end of the list and when I thought of Tyrion I bumped the other book off to include him. He’s such a great character.
      Lynn 😀

  5. Bookworm Inkorporated

    Great list! Curious incident was on my list as well. I really like a couple of these. Zoo city in particular. Will have to try it!

    • lynnsbooks

      Lauren Beukes is turning into one of those authors that I just keep my eye on to see what she’s doing next. She’s done some really good books – Shining Girls and Broken Monsters were both really good too.
      Lynn 😀

  6. Danya @ Fine Print

    I love that Anne Frank quote! I had no idea that The Tower Lord includes a main character who’s a lesbian…that series gets more attractive to me every time I hear about it. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime was the first book I ever read narrated by someone on the spectrum, it is such a classic.

    • lynnsbooks

      OMG – Reva is one of my absolute all time favourite characters ever. She totally stole the show for me.
      Lynn 😀

  7. jessicabookworm

    Tyrion Lannister is a great choice! He is definitely one of my favourite characters in the Song of Ice and Fire series. I also loved The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, and I would like to read The Song of Achilles.

    • lynnsbooks

      I think you’d like Song of Achilles. It’s a good read and manages to be really evocative whilst being fairly simply written.
      Lynn 😀

  8. Tori @InToriLex

    Zoo City Sounds Amazing, Ill definitely be checking it out soon!! Check out my Top Ten Tuesday

    • lynnsbooks

      Zoo City is really good and, in fact, Lauren Beukes later books have also both been excellent. I definitely recommend her to everyone willing to lend me an ear for half a second!
      Lynn 😀

  9. DJ (@MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape)

    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime was one those books I was “forced” to read in the summer for high school. Ended up being very happy about it thought. Loved that story! I recommend that book often to people.

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah, I had no idea what it was going to be about before picking it up but was very pleasantly surprised and found it really compelling.
      Lynn 😀

  10. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    Great list! I wouldnt have thought about Zoo City or The Tower Lord, but they are awesome choices!

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah – sometimes there are some surprises for these.
      Lynn 😀

  11. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Ah Kushiel’s Dart. Who can argue with the Terre D’Ange tenet. I love that anyone can anyone no matter who they are in that world 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah, they have a very chilled outlook on life don’t they.
      Lynn 😀

  12. TheLiteraryCounsellor

    Great list! I haven’t read any of these yet! Gotta add more to the TBR pile I guess. 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      That is the Beauty of these TTT -and also the Beast of them!
      Lynn 😀

  13. rudejasper

    First I love the Anne Frank Quote! How do you always find the perfect quotes with which to title your posts?! Really good choices with GOT and Half A King – I completely forgot that they both had atypical heroes. I also really loved The Song of Achilles and didn’t think of it but such a lovely book!

    • lynnsbooks

      Thanks – I just get lucky I think! I don’t really watch tv but I do like films and for some strange reason I have an annoying (for everyone else) habit of picking up quotes!
      Song of Achilles was a really good book. I found it really evocative.
      Lynn 😀

Leave a comment