June brings tulips, lillies, roses…

Posted On 4 July 2015

Filed under Book Reviews
Tags: ,

Comments Dropped 20 responses

My monthly round up – what I’ve read/plan to read, any events, etc:

Books read:

  1. Hidden Huntress by Danielle Jensen
  2. Vampire Empire by Clay and Susan Griffith
  3. The Devil’s Only Friend by Dan Wells
  4. The Tower Lord by Anthony Ryan
  5. The Philosopher Kings by Jo Walton
  6. Darkhaven by AFE Smith
  7. Queen of Fire by Anthony Ryan
  8. Midnight’s Silence by Teresa Frohock (review to follow)

Backlist:

  1. None this month

Unfinished series completed:

  1. None this month

Books Bought:

  1. A Darker shade of Magic by V E Schwab

Review Books:

  1. Updraft by Fran Wilde
  2. Armada by Ernest Cline
  3. The Dinosaur Lords (excerpt) by Victor Milan
  4. The Fifth House of the Heart by Ben Tripp
  5. Dawnbreaker by Jay Posey

Books Gifted: (courtesy of Wondrous Reads – with thanks)

  1. Shifting Shadows by Patricia Briggs
  2. The Boy Who Wept Blood by Den Patrick
  3. The Relic Guild by Edward Cox
  4. The Straight Razor Cure by Daniel Polansky

IMG_1975

Cover Spotlight:

US or UK cover:?? (US for me with this one)

Events:

Readalong of Jacqueline Carey’s Kushiel’s Dart (8 weeks in) See details here.

Backlist Backburn is an end of month event organised by Lisa at Tenacious Reader. If you’ve caught up on any of your backlist then call over and link up.   I find this a good incentive to dust off some of my books!

Top Ten Tuesday at The Broke and Bookish (every Tuesday).  This week’s topic – The Last 6 Months in review.

Tough Travel by Nathan at the Fantasy Review Barn  (every Thursday).

20 Responses to “June brings tulips, lillies, roses…”

  1. Tammy

    I have all of the books in your “review” section to read as well! July is going to be a crazy good month for SFF books:-)

    • lynnsbooks

      It’s actually been a great year for books – I’ve had some really good reads so far and hoping that the next 6 months will be as good.
      Lynn 😀

  2. DJ (@MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape)

    I have copy of the US Tower Lord, but completely agree with you. UK cover all the way. The colors, design, font style – everything about it.

    • lynnsbooks

      For all three of these books I’ve preferred the US covers – they just appeal to me more for some reason.
      Lynn 😀

  3. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    I really should have tried out the Dinosaur Lords excerpt before I took the plunge and requested the full copy from the publisher, but something told me I’ll have a blast with it. Knights riding dinosaurs! I can’t wait to dig into it soon.

    • lynnsbooks

      To be honest I would have requested the full version – this was from Netgalley and only the excerpt was available at the time – I mean, yeah, it sounds awesome – knights and dinosaurs – what could be better!
      Lynn 😀

  4. Genki Jason

    I read your Vampire Empire review and all I could think about was Owari no Seraph: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtzDAmRhD9s

    • lynnsbooks

      Wow – that looks excellent – have you watched it all. Where can I pick up a copy of it – is it available?? Haha, nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition!!!
      Lynn 😀

  5. jessicabookworm

    I like the look and sound of The Dinosaur Lords 🙂 and I would have to go for the US cover for Tower Lord too. Happy reading in July 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Thanks – the Dinosaur Lords does look really awesome! You enjoy your July reading too.
      Lynn 😀

  6. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    I definitely prefer the US cover for Tower Lord! 🙂 And I just received a copy of The Relic Guild as well. Really looking forward to it! Some other great books in there as well. Updraft and Armada are two upcoming releases that I can’t wait to read!

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah the US Raven covers are much better and the UK. I can’t put my finger on why I prefer them – but I just do. They seem more realistic I suppose.
      Looking forward to the Relic Guild – that was a book one of my friends gave me and it always makes me so happy when I receive unexpected books!!
      Lynn 😀

  7. Stephen P. Bianchini

    What a good list! Look forward to your reviews!

  8. Danya @ Fine Print

    You had a good reading month in June! I’m intrigued to see what you think of Armada – I’ve already started to hear some stuff about it and some people seem a little underwhelmed. Guess it’s kinda hard to top the epicness that was RPO, but only time will tell!

    • lynnsbooks

      I definitely wasn’t underwhelmed. It’s a good read. It’s one of those things though when you’ve read a debut by an author that just swept you away. It is difficult not to compare the two but I tried really hard not to. This really does stand on it’s own in terms of plot. I would have preferred it to be longer and a bit more deep in terms of characterisation. As it is it’s very fast paced and plot focused which is great and entertaining. People who are gamers are going to love it and all the film,book and music references are really cool.
      Lynn 😀

  9. Leona

    I’m really curious about The Philosopher Kings!
    Wow you have quite a list there, my TBR is barely manageable at this point, with the new review commitments and also my rather big list of fantasy classics I really need to read list 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Have you read The Just City – it’s very good and the first in series before Philosopher Kings.
      I need to read more classic fantasy!
      Lynn 😀

Leave a comment