Eternity by Elizabeth Miles

Just finished reading Eternity by Elizabeth Miles which is the final instalment in the series about The Furies (the others being Fury and Envy).  Whilst I can’t deny that I’ve had niggles with this series on the whole it has been entertaining.

The Furies were part of Greek and Roman mythology.  Three women, angry women I might add, deities who dole out vengeance – and at the moment they’re alive and kicking in the town of Ascension.  Warning – if you haven’t read the first two books then this review will undoubtedly contain spoilers.

The main character of the Story is Em, unfortunately she has become the target of the Furies following book No.1 and in fact has made a pact with them in order to save her childhood friend and secret love (JD – her next door neighbour).  Unfortunately Em didn’t quite realise just how serious it is to make a pact with these ladies and her life is slowly spiralling out of control.  It seems that one of the Furies has designs to do something of a life swap and Em has only a short time frame to try to knock things off course.

I enjoyed the characters more in this story – that’s perhaps because they’re all actually afraid now.  In the first two books I can’t deny that some of the characters were annoying occasionally but in no.3 it seems that everyone is finally afraid of what has been unleashed upon them and instead of wondering if their best friend’s boyfriend is trying to catch their eye or if they have the best lip gloss they’re now a bit more anxious about staying alive.

The stories are set in Ascension – an everyday town in Maine – where things are currently rushing to the conclusion.  Em trying to find a way to banish the Furies back to wherever they came from, JD trying to find what Em is hiding and Crowe – the tortured, talented and mysterious musician (who also happens to be rather fond of Em – and also has prophetic tendencies) trying to make sense of his visions.

In terms of criticisms.  Well, the ending I felt was a little rushed but that could be just me and endings.  I couldn’t help thinking that people spend a lot of time running around and agreeing to meet to sort things out and yet as soon as they actually got together they ultimately bickered and left again – it just somehow gave a feeling of very little ever being achieved.  And, yes, in the grand scheme of things I still can’t help thinking that the Furies could better spend their time and attention rather than on a bunch of teenagers whose worst misdemeanour is sleeping with somebody else’s boyfriend or wanting to be part of the in crowd.

However, in spite of criticisms I thought this was a good conclusion.  Miles has a really lovely writing style and is very good at writing to give you the chills on the back of your neck and she has plenty of scope to go at that with the Furies!

On the whole this was a satisfying ending to the series.

I’m submitting this to Stainless Steel Droppings Once Upon a Time Event.

I’m also including it as a backlist burndown book over at Tenacious Reader and an end of series – triple win!

9 Responses to “Eternity by Elizabeth Miles”

  1. jenclair

    Haven’t read this series, but love the cover. Took your warning to heart and skimmed your review as I think I might want to read it. 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      The covers for all three books are really eye catching. Overall I really liked this series – I had quibbles with each one, I can’t deny, but overall it’s a good series and I liked the mythological aspect to the story. I think the ending could have been better dealt with – too rushed and I did have a few issues with the characters during the series but overall it came together well.
      Lynn 😀

  2. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    I’ve not heard of this series before. Glad it ended well! And it let you check off three boxes!! 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Yes – It was definitely a good book for fulfilling some of my challenges this year – overall this was a good series and the ending was satisfying if a little bit (for me) rushed or too easy.
      Lynn 😀

  3. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    I haven’t heard of this before either but ooh, Greek mythology! That always piques my interest 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      I think it’s quite a good series to be honest – I did have niggles but overall the writing was lovely and I liked the mythology element – not read anything with the Furies before and I certainly wouldn’t want to get on their wrong side! Creepy women.
      Lynn 😀

  4. Tammy

    I do love stories about the Furies, this sounds like a fun series, although I haven’t heard of it before. I do wish I had that girl’s hair, however!

    • lynnsbooks

      Tell me about that hair! All the covers for these have been lovely. Not a bad series at all – although it’s taken me a while to finish – I have a problem with finishing series, I read them really strongly and when the last book comes out I just go into some sort of strange place and leave. It’s one of my challenges for the year – to try and finish 10 of my series that have been waiting for ages for completion. I think I’ve achieved 3 so far so I’ll have to make sure I do one a month now!

Leave a comment