“Tomorrow, I’ll think of some way to get him back. After all, tomorrow is another day.”

b2bf5-toptentuesday2

This week over at the Broke and Bookish the topic for Top Ten Tuesday discussion is:

‘Top Ten Characters You’d Like To Check back In With’

So, would you like to jump back down the rabbit hole again or crawl through the Wardrobe or do you have some place else you’d love to go back to.

  1. Richard Mayhew from Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere – I loved the world created here in London Below and would love to join Richard again on some more adventures, maybe avoiding the Angel.
  2. Rhett Butler from Margaret Mitchell’s Gone with the Wind – last words being along the lines of ‘frankly my dear I don’t give a damn’ – you have to kind of want to go back and see if Scarlett can win him back.
  3. Aragorn from Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings – any excuse frankly just to see Aragorn again!
  4. Melanie from The Girl with all the Gifts by M R Carey – I could definitely read more from this world and I think the ending would lend itself to another book.  Although – I think whatever happens next would not have been pretty in most respects.
  5. Shai from The Emperor’s Soul by Brandon Sanderson.  I loved this book and the main character Shai.  I hope that Sanderson will one day revisit and give us a few more of her adventures.
  6. Robert Neville from I am Legend by Richard Matheson. You may think this an odd one.  At the end of the book the outcome is bleak for the human race but part of me thinks really, in all the world – which is a pretty big place – there could still be a few people hiding/surviving couldn’t there???
  7. Wade from Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One.  This was such an entertaining read with one of those endings that give you a smile and want you to punch the air.  It would be nice to check in on Wade and see what he’s up to now.
  8. The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt – this was a surprising book for me in that I had no idea I would enjoy a western type story.  I loved this and the ending was brilliant.  Sometimes it’s best just to walk away with a smile on your face but in their case i would like to revisit the Sisters brothers to see what happened to them – did some of their old exploits come back to haunt them?
  9. Sunshine and Con from Robin McKinley’s Sunshine.  I would definitely like to read about what these two got up to next.  An interesting world and definitely worth a visit – don’t think I’d want to relocate there though!
  10. Corrag from Susan Fletcher’s Witch Light.  I absolutely loved this book.  It totally captured my attention.  I’m just greedy and want more of this so would definitely revisit.

16 Responses to ““Tomorrow, I’ll think of some way to get him back. After all, tomorrow is another day.””

  1. jessicabookworm

    As I have Dickens on the brain at the moment I think I would like to check in with Oliver Twist see what he is like all grown up.

    • lynnsbooks

      What a nice idea – you can call in on Fagin and the Dodger too.
      Lynn 😀

  2. jenclair

    Great list, Lynn! I’d like to check back in with several of these characters!

    • lynnsbooks

      Thanks. I’d particularly like to call in and see Rhett!
      Lynn 😀

  3. Tabitha (Not Yet Read)

    Heck yes to Wade, Shai and Melanie! Tho there is a second gone with the wind book isn’t there?

    • lynnsbooks

      I think there is – but I don’t think it’s Margaret Mitchell so I don’t really want to go there – although, you never know, it could be awesome. I just can’t help thinking how would another author know what she had in mind for her characters. Perhaps I should go and check it out and see how it holds up. I think with Gone With the Wind it was one of my 14/15 year old reads when you’re really impressionable and a bit romantically inclined and I just loved it. I walked around for about 5 days with my head stuck in the pages – I didn’t speak to anybody and I even went downstairs after everyone had gone to bed to carry on reading in the peace and quiet (plus I shared a bedroom with my sister which meant I couldn’t read in bed!) It would be interesting to see what I make of this now.
      Lynn 😀

  4. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    Good luck with Neville. You are more of an optimist than I am! 🙂 But Wade, Melanie and Richard Mayhew would all be great!

    • lynnsbooks

      I would so love to go back to London Below – so much more left to explore I think.
      Lynn 😀

  5. thewritestuff123

    I’d love to see what Rhett Butler is up to as well and whether Scarlett won him back. She’s certainly wily enough to do it!

  6. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    You know, all these books are being written from the POV of Mr. Darcy and all that, I wonder if anyone’s ever written something like that for Rhett Butler. I’d love to see what he got up to after those famous last words. Does he regret anything? Does he ever reminisce of the past? Okay, someone must have thought of doing this. I’m going to check.

      • lynnsbooks

        Wow – there’s a lot of hate going on for that book! It’s such a good idea as well. I read a book called Longbourn last year which was the World of Pride and Prejudice but written by one of the servants. That was really good and I enjoyed it a lot.
        Lynn 😀

    • lynnsbooks

      It’s a good idea – dare I mention that Meyer did something similar and wrote a short piece from the POV of Edward. It’s interesting.
      Lynn 😀

  7. Genki Jason

    I totally agree about The Sisters Brothers ended on a perfect note.

    Richard Mayhew would be an interesting one to catch up with as well!

    • lynnsbooks

      I would so go back for a visit with the Sisters Brothers. Such a good book. That’s the problem with a good book – you always want more.
      Lynn 😀

Leave a comment