‘April hath put a spirit of youth in everything’

This week over at the Broke and Bookish the topic for Top Ten Tuesday discussion is:

Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR List

This was difficult – simply in terms of keeping it to 10!  Been a bit naughty because a couple of these are definitely not Spring but you know! So here goes:

  1. Clash of Iron by Angus Watson – April
  2. The Doll Maker by Richard Montanari – April
  3. When we were Animals by Joshua Gaylord – April
  4. A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson – May
  5. When the Heavens Fall by Marc Turner – May
  6. The Vagrant by Peter Newman – May
  7. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas – May
  8. The Liar’s Key by Mark Lawrence – June
  9. Time Salvager by Wesley Chu – July
  10. Queen of Fire by Anthony Ryan – July

24 Responses to “‘April hath put a spirit of youth in everything’”

  1. RoseReadsNovels

    So many possibilities, not enough reading time…

    • lynnsbooks

      Yes, indeed. How to fit all these lovely books in – we need a time machine – or immortality!
      Lynn 😀

  2. Miriam

    So many pretty covers! I haven’t read any of these but I’ve heard of quite a few… seem like awesome pics 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      There are some awesome covers here to be honest – I could have organised them better but once I’d added them I just didn’t want to go back and rearrange! Very lazy.
      Lynn 😀

  3. readerbuzz

    Nice to know there’s a new Kate Atkinson coming out! Thanks.

    Here’s my Top Ten. Hope you’ll stop by!

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah, she’s one of the authors that I always look out for so I’m excited to see another one.
      I will certainly stop by – any excuse to add to the TBR.
      Lynn 😀

  4. Tammy

    Ooh yes there are many on your list I can’t wait to read! Time Salvager, A God in Ruins (but I need to catch up on the series) and A Court of Thorns and Roses. And some new books I’m going to check out right now!

    • lynnsbooks

      I’m really looking forward to some of these – I don’t have them all of course! It’s partly a wishlist as well.
      Looking forward to Court of Thorns and Roses.
      Lynn 😀

  5. jenclair

    I have The Dollmaker, but definitely want the one by Maas. I requested When Heavens Fall, but it is only a preview excerpt. Which, of course, I didn’t realize when I requested it.

    • lynnsbooks

      I like the look of the Dollmaker and definitely looking forward to the Maas. I’m leaving it until a little nearer release date. TBH I also hadn’t realised that the Heavens book was an excerpt – still I suppose it will be quick at least!
      Lynn 😀

  6. lynthelazy

    I loved Life After Life, I’m going to have to give A God In Ruins a shot. Great list.
    My TTT: http://www.lazyladylife.com/blog/2015/3/13/top-10-to-read-this-spring

    • lynnsbooks

      I do like Kate Atkinson so I keep an eye out for her new releases.
      Lynn 😀

  7. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    A good number of these are on my radar! There’s also a couple I need to go look up because I haven’t heard of 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah, this is a mix of books I’ve got and books I still really want! And of course I picked up knowledge of one of these from your recent posting – so thanks for that.
      Lynn 😀

  8. jessicabookworm

    Interesting possibilities, I hope you enjoy your Spring reading 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Thanks – I’m really looking forward to some of these.
      Lynn 😀

  9. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    So many good spring books. I can’t wait for Clash of Iron and When the Heavens Fall. Very curious about The Doll Maker – I saw that on Netgalley and was considering it. Can I ask, what about it is calling to you?

    • lynnsbooks

      I like the sound of the Doll Maker – I’m kind of hoping for something very scary – the whole doll thing! TBH it kind of put me a little in mind of Broken Monsters as well which I liked so it will be interesting to see how they compare.
      Lynn 😀

      • Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

        Well, I do have a fear of dolls and would love to read a horror thriller that truly frightens me…oh why must you tempt me! 😛

      • lynnsbooks

        Lol 😀

  10. Joey @ thoughts and afterthoughts

    Oh! You are someone I can ask this, maybe, hopefully–I’m assuming you’ve read Lawrence’s The Broken Empire–and if so, I wonder if you can fill me in on whether or not it’s possible to start Prince of Fools before reading the trilogy?

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

    • lynnsbooks

      Yes, you can totally read Prince of Fools first. The stories are based in the same world and in fact there is the odd reference or appearance from the Thorn series – but, nothing you would notice if you hadn’t already read that series and certainly not anything that would spoil your enjoyment of PoFs.
      Lynn 😀

      • Joey @ thoughts and afterthoughts

        Yeah, I read that there might be some throwback nostalgia bombs in there for those who read Broken Empire. But that sounds awesome that I don’t necessarily have to read the trilogy before Pof! Thanks Lynn!

      • lynnsbooks

        There are definitely little happy surprises in there for fans of Lawrence’s Broken Empire Trilogy but you can definitely read as a stand alone.
        Lynn 😀

Leave a comment