You’re simply the best

b2bf5-toptentuesday2

This week over at The Broke and Bookish the topic for Top Ten Tuesday is:

‘ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOKS (from the past 5 years)’

Well, I suppose they’re not ‘all time favourites’ if I’m just looking over the past 5 years but here goes and these are reads that if somebody asked me to recommend something they would probably spring to mind:

  1. Lord of the Rings by JRRTolkien- which I reread in 2011
  2. The Broken Empire series by Mark Lawrence – bit of a cheat as this is 3 books!
  3. City of Stairs by Robert J Bennett
  4. The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt
  5. The Serpent of Venice by Christopher Moore
  6. The fairytale retellings by Sarah Pinborough – Poison/Beauty/Charm
  7. Patricia Briggs Mercy Thompson series
  8. Brandon Sanderson’s Stormlight Archive
  9. Scott Lynch’s Gentleman Bastard series
  10. M L Brennan’s Vampire series – Generation V/Iron Night/Tainted Blood

Difficult to narrow this down to 10 as I have managed to read a lot of good books over the past few years.

31 Responses to “You’re simply the best”

  1. For the Love of the Page

    I’ve not read one book on your list… 😦

    • lynnsbooks

      Well, they’re not for everyone!! Plus – there are a LOT of books out there. 😀
      Lynn

  2. Tammy

    I would have picked The Sisters Brothers but I read that before I started blogging (over 3 years ago). And I just have to get to M. L. Brennan’s series this year if it’s the last thing I do!

    • lynnsbooks

      I loved the Sisters Brothers – I could read more like that all the time. Such a lot of books though – how can you catch up with them all!
      Lynn 😀

  3. Nathan

    You liked Serpent of Venice that much? I don’t know why I have not picked it up, Moore used to be one of my top authors.

    • lynnsbooks

      Well, maybe it’s not as good as his others but I haven’t read them so can’t compare – you’ll have to read it and then you can let me know and tell me which others to read next!
      Lynn 😀

  4. christine danielle

    Never read any of these books. 🙂 but they seem great fantasy books.
    Top Ten Tuesday!

    • lynnsbooks

      Well, you can’t possibly read all the books – but, yes, I really liked them!
      Lynn 😀

  5. Caroline

    I’ll have to give ML Brennan a go if you like it that much. I’m always happy to discover a good vampire series.

    • lynnsbooks

      Yes, it’s a really good series – I’m enjoying it so much.
      Lynn 😀

  6. Genki Jason

    The Sisters Brothers is so good it would make my top ten!

  7. thefictionalreader

    I read The Lies of Locke Lamora last year and it’s definitely one of my favorites too! Just so good. And The Lord of the Rings is one of my all-time favorite series for sure -and the movies too. I own Prince of Thorns but haven’t read it and got City of Stairs for review -but haven’t read that one either…

    I really love your list!

    • lynnsbooks

      Thanks – I think if you like LotR and Lies you’ll definitely like the others. Prince of Thorns really is grimdark and you have to give it time but it’s brilliant, the scope and the big picture are so good. City of Stairs is totally awesome – it literally has the full package – plot, story and characters. The world building is just amazing. I loved that book.
      Lynn 😀

  8. Michael

    My list reminded you to read Lock in. Your list reminds that I need to read the Stormlight Archive. 🙂

  9. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    I like that your list is so varied!

    • lynnsbooks

      Ahh, cool – I hadn’t thought of it as being varied! Thanks
      Lynn 😀

  10. DJ (@LifeBooksEscape)

    I didn’t know you like the Broken Empire series that much! (I just open your reviews in separate windows to read later)

    • lynnsbooks

      Mark Lawrence has been on my end of year list for the past 3 years so I figured he had to go on here too.
      Lynn 😀

      • DJ (@LifeBooksEscape)

        I agree and approve 100% of your decisions to put him on those lists. I just read all your reviews of the trilogy too. It was great to see all your enthusiasm and how much you like them!

      • lynnsbooks

        I just found them very unique and I was really impressed by the bigger picture and the whole scope of the entire series.
        Lynn 😀

  11. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    This would be a very tough list for me to do. I’m very curious about the Pinborough trio of fairy tale retellings!

    • lynnsbooks

      I loved the fairytale retellings – they have Pinborough’s twisted darkness to them and I found them quite unexpected. Plus they’re all separate stories that combine two or three tales but they’re from the same world so they do reference each other.
      Lynn 😀

  12. caitlinstern

    I plan to read the Sanderson books someday. Always more books than time…
    Patricia Briggs is a favorite author of mine–Mercy is awesome!

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah, agreed, I really enjoy reading about Mercy’s adventures.

  13. Molly Mortensen

    This was a hard list. I counted rereads and series too. I’m glad Generation V made the list! 🙂 Lots of good epic fantasy titles. I really have to read more of those. I only tried one Christopher Moore and it was a bit too ‘adult’ for me if that makes sense.

    • lynnsbooks

      It totally makes sense – he’s a bit of a creative curser to say the least! I just really liked this – whether I’ll like his others remains to be seen.
      Lynn 😀

  14. Danya @ Fine Print

    Sigh, I still haven’t read City of Stairs. It’s on my list! <—- the battle cry of the Danya.

    • lynnsbooks

      Danya, rushing into the fray, screaming the Danya cry and wielding the City of Stairs. Go Danya.
      Lynn 😀

  15. Hat’s off to you… |

    […] You’re Simply the Best – March 2015, top ten books of the last five years – this was a toughie! […]

Leave a comment