Books, books, books and… books

b2bf5-toptentuesday2

This week over at the Broke and the Bookish the Topic for Top Ten Tuesday is:

Ten Book Related Problems I Have

Okay, a bit tongue in cheek – 10 tee shirt slogans, tiny little rants.  I’m not probably quite as curmudgeonly as these make me sound:

  1. I’m reading – ‘do not disturb’ – you should particularly wear this t-shirt on public transport on the way to and from work.
  2. Yes, I’m reading to avoid making eye contact with YOU!!  You could have this printed on the back of the above t-shirt!
  3. You want me to pick ONE favourite book!!!  ONE!!!
  4. What just happened !! (cliffhanger)
  5. The next book is out WHEN?? (on the back of the above t-shirt)
  6. I have a problem – DO NOT SELL ME THESE BOOKS!
  7. What are you doing? – I WANT TO BUY THOSE BOOKS! (on the back of the above t-shirt)
  8. Ohh, a new shiny book *wants*
  9. Did I mention I have a problem
  10. I-phone, i-pad, i-love books

35 Responses to “Books, books, books and… books”

  1. Colin

    I like big books and I cannot lie…

  2. RoseReadsNovels

    I like slogan number one, although people tend to leave me to sit on my own on the train when I laugh aloud or cry when I’m reading anyway…

    • lynnsbooks

      Hah yes, the crazy insane person laughing out loud whilst reading a book on the bus or train – it’s a good ploy – one that I sometimes adopt!
      Lynn 😀

  3. Miriam

    Yep cliffhangers are the worse! Actually I agree with most of these 😉

    The thing I find most frustrating is publisher restrictions on ebooks. I hate waiting for a book to be released only to find it is not available in my location and there is no legal way for me to buy it.

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah, I know – I wish we could all receive these books at the same time. The UK always seems to get things later than others (which can be damned annoying as you watch everyone else read that much longed for book!)
      Lynn 😀

  4. jessicabookworm

    I agree I hate cliff hangers especially if I have to wait what feels like an eternity for the next book!

    • lynnsbooks

      It’s more the forgetting of plot and characters than anything else. I don’t mind a book being part of a series and so not having a definite ending but I don’t like the sort of cliffhangers where something is about to be revealed – but you don’t find out until next time!!
      Lynn 😀

  5. Tammy

    Very funny! I think I need all of those t shirts:-D

    • lynnsbooks

      You could wear them all on top of each other and peel them off one by one in answer to the next annoyance! God, I’m just so grumpy!
      Lynn 😀

  6. Anastasia

    Haha awwww XD I need t shirt with bookish problem. Need to find ones! My TTT http://readandsurvive.com/2015/02/17/top-ten-tuesday-ten-book-related-problems-i-have/

    • lynnsbooks

      Perhaps I should patent that idea and set up a shop – I can see those sort of t-shirts being very popular with book readers! LOL

  7. Elizabeth

    For me, change #1 to in the break room!

    • lynnsbooks

      OMG – that’s even more annoying – especially when people keep talking to you then apologising ‘oh sorry, you’re reading’ before then talking again!! Doh. 😀

  8. Molly Mortensen

    haha this was an amusing post. I agree it is so annoying when a book ends without an ending and then we have to wait a year or more for the next one! I think we all want to buy more books than we probably should.

    • lynnsbooks

      I think you have a very good point! We’re all disturbed but at least we know!

  9. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    I totally agree with number 3, and it drives me insane as well. ONE book? You want me to pick ONE book. Trying to get me to pick ONE favorite of anything is nearly impossible, I can’t even pick my ONE favorite kind of candy bar, FFS! I have so many favorite books, one might better luck asking me to pick one favorite out of a particular genre, but even then I’d have a hard time giving an answer 😀

    • lynnsbooks

      It’s a toughie! If somebody asked me to name 10 books – still tough but I might have a go!! (People usually glaze over though – most people I know don’t read SFF at all so they usually lose interest and look in a disdainful manner down their nose when i say that’s what I like!)
      Lynn 😀

  10. Michael

    The first step is admitting you have a problem….;)

    • lynnsbooks

      Problem, who’s got a problem? … hehehehehe
      Lynn 😀

  11. Joey @ thoughts and afterthoughts

    Haha, my thought on public transit (aside from resuming the position of an obstruction to getting on-and-off the subway) is that I’m a cool hipster kid who reads, and therefore you should be jealous–though I doubt anyone would think our species is like this; especially when I start laughing or making weird “oh shit” faces when important things are happening.

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah, the travelling public definitely don’t think it’s cool when you snort out loud – especially when they’re sitting next to you! Yes, I do snort out loud when something funny is occurring in my current read!
      Lynn 😀

  12. caitlinstern

    My usual response to “what’s your favorite book” is to rattle off a half-dozen favorite authors. Or the favorite out of the books I’m currently reading.

    • lynnsbooks

      That’s actually true – I always remember my current reads first! Sometimes I could kick myself at the books that I love but forget about!
      Lynn 😀

  13. thenovellife1

    Oh Lynn these are all so hilarious! Sign me up to buy 2 of each of the above shirts! 😉

    • lynnsbooks

      Heehee – I could open a shop – full of goodies, books and printed t-shirts – I think it would be an immense success!
      Lynn 😀

  14. christine danielle

    a girl can’t have too much books.
    TOP TEN TUESDAY

    • lynnsbooks

      Indeed – quite agree! Who needs lots and lots of shoes when you can have lots and lots of books!!! Okay, you can’t wear them on your feet, although, with a little improvisation, okay, no!
      Lynn 😀

  15. romeorites

    Brilliant. Absolutely cosmic idea

  16. otakutwins1

    You have some nice shirt ideas XD I have similar problems while reading my sister loves to talk to me! Also, I head this IBA blogger thing helps with views if your interested: http://www.internationalbloggersassociation.com/

  17. Tabitha (Not Yet Read)

    I wish I could read by osmosis so I could absorb books even in my sleep.

    • lynnsbooks

      That’s an idea I could get on board with! I should really try audio books but somehow they just don’t appeal to me – in fact, who am I kidding – my attention would just wander. I’m like Dory.
      Lynn 😀

Leave a comment