‘January brings the snow’… a quick recap

This is going to be my monthly round up post.  A quick catch up.

Books read:

  1. Transmuted, Karina Cooper – also reviewed by Lisa (Over the Effing Rainbow)
  2. Tempered – Karina Cooper
  3. Engraved – Karina Cooper
  4. Atlanta Burns – Chuck Wendig – also reviewed by Tammy (Books, Bones and Buffy)
  5. The Ice Twins – S K Tremayne
  6. The Just City – Jo Walton – also reviewed by Lisa (Tenacious Reader)
  7. Owl and the Japanese Circus – Kristi Charish – also reviewed by Mogsy (Bibliosanctum)
  8. The Eterna Files – Leanna Renee Hieber – review to follow
  9. Sorrow’s Isle – Jen Williams – review to follow

Backlist:

  1. Engraved – Karina Cooper
  2. Tempered – Karina Cooper

Unfinished series completed:

  1. Transmuted – Karina Cooper – No.6 of the St Croix Chronicles and end of series 1/10 completed

Books Bought:

  1. Gardens of the Moon – Steven Erikson – recommended by Sleepless Musings Thank you!!
  2. The Deaths of Tao – Wesley Chu
  3. Daughter of the Forest – Juliet Marilier
  4. Sorrow’s Isle – Jen Williams
  5. The Fire Mages – Pauline M Ross

Review Books:

  1. Golden Son – Pierce Brown
  2. The Way Inn – Will Wiles
  3. The Bees – Laline Paull
  4. The Ship – Antonia Honeywell
  5. Inspector of the Dead – David Morrell
  6. Flex –  Ferrett Steinmetz

Vintage Sci Fi at the Little Red Reviewer and Sci Fi Experience 2015 at Stainless Steel Droppings

I was hoping to do better with this as I only completed two books but I was simply too unorganised!  There’s always next year though 😀

  1. A Princess of Mars – Edgar Rice Burroughs
  2. Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury

Cover spotlight:

23 Responses to “‘January brings the snow’… a quick recap”

  1. Stephen P. Bianchini

    Lynn I am so impressed…! I’d love to read as much as you do. Will try to make more time this year, but still…bravo! 🙂

  2. lynnsbooks

    Well, to be honest, some of the books this month were very quick reads! Won’t be as easy when I’m reading the chunkier fantasy books!
    Lynn 😀

  3. lipsyy

    You had a great month!

    • lynnsbooks

      It wasn’t bad – I certainly seemed to have read quite a few even though it felt like I was actually not reading at all!
      Lynn 😀

  4. Tammy

    I just got a surprise copy of The Eterna Files in the mail, so I’m curious to read your review. Well, you did much better than I did with Vintage SF month, I didn’t get to a single title!

    • lynnsbooks

      I normally aim for 3/4 books so I was a bit disappointed with myself. I had too many other things I was trying to do and there’s only so much time!
      Lynn 😀

  5. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    Oh! Gardens of the Moon and The Deaths of Tao! Two great books 🙂 And everyone keeps reminding me I need to read Atlanta Burns!

    • lynnsbooks

      I think you’d really like the Chuck Wendig and would be interested to see your thoughts on that one.
      Lynn 😀

      • Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

        The Miriam Black books were great, and Blue Blazes was good as well. Not sure why I didn’t request Atlanta Burns, think I was trying to not request much of anything until I read more of the books in hand.

      • lynnsbooks

        Not read Blue Blazes but I think Wendig is one of those authors that I will eventually work through his other books. I really liked the Miriam Black books.
        I know what you mean about requesting books – but sometimes it’s just so tempting!!
        Lynn 😀

  6. romeorites

    I love Deaths Of Tao. And obviously GoTM. I think I may be ill for i havent got any new books for ages. *checks temperature.*

    Nice work Lynn 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Damn – I should have mentioned you on GoTM – I always like to give credit when I pick up a book thanks to another blogger. I’ll add that in.
      Thanks
      Lynn 😀

      • romeorites

        Aw, that is kind of you. Thank you.

      • lynnsbooks

        I’m only sorry I didn’t put it straight away! 😀

      • romeorites

        Aw dont worry. Everything is cosmic.

  7. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Looks like Karina Cooper dominated your January! Good job on finishing the series and hitting up the backlist!

    I’m also very much looking forward to your review of Flex. Three cheers for the return of Angry Robot!

    • lynnsbooks

      I know, I was wondering where Angry Robot went to. Happy to have them back!
      Lynn 😀

  8. Genki Jason

    Great job getting all those reviews done, Lynn!

    • lynnsbooks

      Thanks Jason – I frequently think the same about all your film reviews and don’t know how you manage it!!
      Lynn 😀

  9. jessicabookworm

    Looks like you had a good reading month. 9 books finished is great. I look forward to your thoughts on Daughter of the Forest as I’ve heard good things about it. Happy reading in February 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      I’m also really looking forward to it. That and Dreamer’s Pool.
      Lynn 😀

  10. Tabitha (Not Yet Read)

    Looks like you had a really good month. I like how you set this up. I’m totally going to add more tracking type things to my monthly posts!!

Leave a comment