Vital Statistics!! And other random information

Posted On 4 January 2015

Filed under Book Reviews
Tags:

Comments Dropped 25 responses

Just for curiosity’s sake I thought I’d have a look at my reading for 2014 and run some figures (I will point out that mathematics is not my strong point so there could be discrepancies!!)

Out of the books I read:

  • Total No. of books read 100
  • Bought – 38% (this only includes those read to date!)
  • Gifts – 6%
  • Publishers/authors direct – 12%
  • Netgalley – 32%
  • Library – 12%
  • Female authors – 45.5%
  • Male authors – 54.5%

Challenges/Events:

Them’s my numbers for 2014.

25 Responses to “Vital Statistics!! And other random information”

  1. Stephen P. Bianchini

    Congratulations, Lynn! Amazing statistics. Nowhere near myself, but I promise to do better this year πŸ™‚

    • Stephen P. Bianchini

      I meant, nowhere near you! I think I’m about 40ish.

      • lynnsbooks

        40 is an excellent figure anyway! I don’t know how some people read 200 books or more – no way I could do that!!

      • Stephen P. Bianchini

        Don’t tell me! πŸ˜€

    • lynnsbooks

      Thanks. I did used to read more to be honest but I think a combination of a couple of reading slumps not to mention some rather huge sized books have slowed me down. I don’t mind – I usually read two books a week but not when they’re chunksters like the Sanderson books I read this year.
      Plus – I don’t always finish a book nowadays but I still give it a really good shot before I give up on it! So that takes more of your time as well.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  2. Carl V. Anderson

    Those are some great numbers. Fun to see the numbers you completed for the various events.

    • lynnsbooks

      I quite enjoyed pulling the numbers together – it’s quite eye opening when you look at it all together. I wondered what the ratio of male to female authors would be – I was surprised that the male authors were slightly more (although only slightly) simply because I do tend to read a lot of UF and they’re quite often female authors – although there is Butcher and Hearne – oh well – talked myself out of that argument already!
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  3. Carmen

    Great numbers, Lynn. 100 Books in a year is impressive; I just read 40, but I’m a slow reader.

  4. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    Very cool! I should calculate some of these, curious to see how my reading breaks down.

  5. jessicabookworm

    Wow 100 books read is impressive πŸ™‚

    • lynnsbooks

      Sometimes I get a little focused on sticking to my goals!! Still, I did actually used to read more books but I have less free time now! And, I try and interchange my thinner books with the chunksters – otherwise I’d read half that number!
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  6. Danya @ Fine Print

    The nice thing about reading 100 books is that, aside from being an impressive number, it’s fairly simple for us bad at math folk to get stats out of. I’m intrigued by your Classics Club challenge…which classics did you read? πŸ™‚

    • lynnsbooks

      I know – even I couldn’t go wrong with the percentages – unless I missed a book out of course!! Well, I have a rather unusual list for my classics – for two reasons really, one I’ve already read quite a lot of the classics so Austen and Bronte, Doyle, Hardy, etc, – so I came up with a little more diverse of a list – so some are not as old as others but I think they’re classics in the genre – I’ve not knocked too many off this year – only three – this is my list – and it has links to the Classics Club. You choose your own challenge so it doesn’t have to be really stressful. I quite enjoy knowing the odd ones off.
      https://lynnsbooks.wordpress.com/2013/03/16/classics-club-book-list/

  7. Mogsy

    Congrats! 100 – A nice round number, that!

    I’m impressed with the number of challenges you did, that’s one thing I avoided doing in 2014 unless I knew for sure I had books to read that could go towards them. I’m too obsessed about meeting goals, I’m always in danger of overloading myself πŸ˜›

    • lynnsbooks

      The good thing about the two sci fi events and Once Upon a Time and Reader’s Imbiging Peril – well, three things actually, there is no set number of books, you can read 1 or 20, there are quite a lot of bloggers involved so I quite look forward to seeing which books they choose and also it involves books that I already enjoy so I just kind of save them up. Once upon a time is light fantasy, fairy tale, myth and folklore and RIP is dark fantasy, thriller, chiller, ghost story, etc. The last real challenge I did and enjoyed was the World Without Ends – female authors (new to me) – can’t remember the proper name. I kept that to one new author a month and I did like it.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  8. Nathan

    #’s are fun. Glad you took the time to run them. Danya is right, nice that no math is needed with that book total =)

    • lynnsbooks

      This was really easy because I keep a list of my books, per month for the full year with links to the reviews – so this was simples! (Even for dumbass me!)
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  9. Genki Jason

    100 books 0_o Hats off to you, that’s an impressive amount!

    As a film blogger I watched 100 films or more… I really don’t keep track beyond collecting cinema tickets but I have started a diary.

    • lynnsbooks

      Thanks πŸ˜€
      Yeah, you should keep a diary – btw I hope you have an unlimited cinema card!!!
      Lynn

  10. Delia (Postcards from Asia)

    Congrats for completing your reading challenge for the year! 100 books is A LOT!
    Which books were your favorites?

  11. Tabitha (Not Yet Read)

    Ok that’s it I need to get to cracking on my 2015 overview post – I don’t need to make it be all as in depth I can just be better prepared to track things next year!

    • lynnsbooks

      I keep a list during the year as I go along on my challenges page – each month I do the list of books I want to read – and then I amend it to the books I actually did read! LOL. It made this post very easy – plus it makes choosing my top 10 really easy because the entire list is there!!
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  12. New Books of 2015 pt.6 - Themself

    […] Vital Statistics!! And other random information […]

  13. Influential Books - Ten Books You Should Read - Themself

    […] Vital Statistics!! And other random information […]

Leave a comment