‘Me…. and….. my ….. shhhaaaaaadow….’

b2bf5-toptentuesday2The theme this week for Top Ten Tuesday over at the Broke and the Bookish is:

‘Top Ten Characters You Wish Would Get Their OWN Book’

I sort of struggled with this – as I came up with suggestions I realised that some of them had already had their own series developed and so some on this list may still fall into this category although I did remove a couple.

  1. The Marquis de Carabas out of Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman.  A very interesting character and one that I would happily read more about.
  2. Lord Ermenwyr and nursie from Kage Baker’s Anvil of the World.  This is a very engaging and entertaining read and Lord Ermenwyr and his (ahem) nurse make it even more so!
  3. Death from Neil Gaiman’s Sandman series – you have to admit that Gaiman writes some very intriguing secondary characters!
  4. Stefan, the Vampire out of the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs
  5. Sigrud, the Viking out of City of Stairs by Robert J Bennett.  Without a doubt Shara stole this story but I definitely feel that Sigrud could carry his own book!
  6. Syl and Kaladin from Brandon Sanderson’s Way of Kings and Words of Radiance.  I love this pair of characters.  Love. Them.
  7. The Copper Cat from The Copper Promise by Jen Williams – what a bloody ace character.  Give me more.
  8. Samwise Gamgee from Lord of the Rings – a definite sidekick but one with his own very enjoyable character.
  9. Magnus Bane from Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments
  10. Severus Snape from J K Rowlings HP – you have to love Snape.  You do.  Really.

Bit of cheating going on above as some of these are two for the price of one!  But, rules are made for breaking.

Now it would have been easy to start this list with a couple of favourites – for example, Jean Tannen from Scott Lynch’s Gentlemen Bastards.  Now, I love this character, truly, but, first, he’s definitely no sidekick and second, Jean and Locke have pure banter going on – if you put him in his own book you’d lose all that witty repartee (or snark).

So, who would you like to read about??

31 Responses to “‘Me…. and….. my ….. shhhaaaaaadow….’”

  1. caitlinstern

    There’s a lot of Patricia Brigg’s characters that have fascinating back stories only hinted at… Stefan is definitely an interesting vampire, I agree. A bit weird, but interesting.

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah, and he has a Scooby wagon – which makes him yet more weird but interesting!
      Lynn 😀

      • caitlinstern

        That was one of the things I was thinking off. 🙂

        Doesn’t he have a life-sized Scooby stuffed animal in the passenger seat?

      • lynnsbooks

        Haha, I don’t remember that!! I’m sure you’re right though – yes, I think you’re right! heehee
        Lynn 😀

  2. Cathy746books

    I love that Neil Gaiman has Death as a character and he’s only a secondary one!!

    • lynnsbooks

      Well, apparently Death does get her own couple of graphic novels by the look of some of these new comments – I suppose it makes sense really! If enough people love your secondary characters then eventually they’ll get their own 15 minutes of fame I suppose. Magnus Bane is another one I’ve just discovered has a book!!
      Lynn 😀

  3. TheBookishOwl

    Great list! Aside from Severus Snape, I’d also like a spin-off with the Marauders and their early days at Hogwarts. 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Haha, Severus is greatly misunderstood! I do love Rickman and think he’s perfect for the role! Is that weird. Did I hear that Rowling is doing another Potter book – not sure exactly what but I’m sure I saw something lurking around Twitter. Perhaps you’ll get lucky.
      Lynn 😀

  4. Maija Reads

    Just in case you’re not aware, Death had two graphic novels of her own (though I think she was more present in the High Cost of Living than in the other one, if I remember correctly – I could be wrong). They weren’t as good as the Sandman, though. And I agree with you, Neil Gaiman has some awesome secondary characters, especially in the Sandman series! Loki was great in those, and Cluracan, and Lucien… and a lot of others!

    Magnus Bane has his own series of short stories, the Bane Chronicles. Magnus is pretty much the only character I like in the Mortal Instruments, and sometimes felt like the only reason I wanted to read those books! 😀

    • lynnsbooks

      Hah, no I wasn’t aware – it seems like a few of my choices already have books – Magnus for example!! I’m only up to 5 or maybe 6 of the Sandman. I’m taking my time with them. I agree bout Magnus – definitely a very good character.
      Lynn 😀

      • Maija Reads

        Great, I’m glad I told you about the books, then! You should definitely read them. I’m holding off on reading the Magnus story collection until after I’ve finished the Infernal Devices, which might take a while.

  5. Nathan

    Damn it Maija beat me to it! I read High Cost of Living and think i liked it, but I read it quite a long time ago.

    I didn’t know you were a Sandman fan!

    • lynnsbooks

      I will look out for that – thanks to you and Maija – two recommendations from rather excellent bloggers just can’t be ignored!!!
      I’m up to either 5 or 6 with the Sandman – I think they’re excellent. I do, of course, admit that I’m a bit of a Gaimanite -but, I also can admit that I’m not in love with absolutely everything he’s done. The Sandman though is really good. It’s incredibly dark but I think the storyline so far is fascinating, I love Morpheus and the graphics are literally amazing – some VERY graphic, but…
      Lynn 😀

  6. jessicabookworm

    I totally agree I would love to read more about Samwise Gamgee and Severus Snape. I would also like to read more about Mr Tumnus from The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. He’s a great character who is definitely not used enough!

    • lynnsbooks

      Oh, Yes, I love Mr Tumnus. What a great suggestion.
      Lynn 😀

  7. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    Sigrud! Yes 🙂 And now, I am reminded I still need to read Copper Promise, because: Copper Cat! I love the idea. And I agree, I think Jean is likely better with Locke, and he’s more of an equal than a secondary sidekick. Plus, I love me some snark.

    • lynnsbooks

      Oh, I think you’ll love the Copper Cat. I can’t wait to read more of Jen Williams. Sigrud – defo needs his own book.
      Lynn 😀

  8. jenclair

    I’ll have to give this more thought, although I often find a secondary character as interesting (or even more so) than the main characters!

    • lynnsbooks

      I think the secondary characters are also more likable – perhaps it’s because they don’t get as much air time so you don’t see all their faults in the same way, or maybe it’s because they just have the occasional, but witty, lines! Look forward to what you come up with.
      Lynn 😀

  9. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Stefan from the Mercy Thompson books would be a great character to have his own book/series, actually. In fact, I was quite surprised he didn’t even have a story in the anthology that just came out, I would have thought she would have done one for him at least after all these years.

    • lynnsbooks

      Perhaps we’ve not all been vocal enough about how much we like him!!! He’s a really good character – I would love a bit of back story – and let’s face it his story would go way back!
      Lynn 😀

  10. paperbackwanderings

    I think it’s about time I read another Gaiman book! I’ve only read The Ocean at the End of the Lane. What’s your favorite novel of his (if you have one)? And by the way…at least you came up with a full 10 characters! 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah, grim determination.
      Well, I love The Graveyard Book – don’t be fooled by it, it comes across as a children’s book but it’s fantastic and has undertones of so many well loved books – especially Jungle Book. I also really enjoyed Neverwhere. His imagination is something else.
      Lynn 😀

  11. Two Dudes in an Attic

    I would read an entire book about Nursey.
    Er, did I just say that out loud?

  12. nrlymrtl

    Samwise!!! Yes, i would love to have a solid day of reading about his gardening and cooking.

    I think they just released an anthology of Magnus Bane short stories.

    I have been listening to the Dragon Stone series by Kristian Alva and I would love to see a spin off trilogy on Talen, the hafling.

    From The Dresden Files – Bob the Skull! And Mac the bartender. I could probably name every side character in that series and find fans who also want stories on them.

    • lynnsbooks

      Yep, I’ve seen the Magnus Bane book! Typical – they’ve all ganged up on me when I least expected it.
      The Dresden Files is another great choice. Particularly Bob and actually Mac now you mention it although I don’t think he would have occurred to me!
      Lynn 😀

  13. Genki Jason

    Didn’t Death get her own book? I’m sure I read one when I was in my library when I was younger.

    I was sure you would have put Jean Tannen in there! Good reasons for not putting him in the list.

    Who would I want to get their own book…? Team Mizuno from Biomega. I should re-read that manga but I think that Mizuno and her AI just disappear from the narrative. Why?

    Fuka-Eri from 1Q84. I would love to see this mystical girl tackle everyday life with her unique personality.

    • lynnsbooks

      Yep, I’m a raging dunce, s’pose I should have done a bit more homework!!! I had more ideas but then realised they’d already got their own books so struck them off! Will have to look out for the Death ones.
      Did you enjoy 1Q84? I quite fancied this as my first Murakami but I think I let a couple of negative reviews put me off. Perhaps I should really have a rethink.
      Lynn 😀

      • Genki Jason

        Well I really enjoyed it but there is a bit that almost put me off and I know it put a friend of mine off and that’s how the relationship between the protagonists Fuka-Eri and Tengo develops. I won’t say anything more.

        I’d recommend starting with The Wind-up Bird Chronicle! It has all of Murakami’s style and I think the story is great,

      • lynnsbooks

        Nice one I’m going to go and look that one up – I have read mixed reviews of it so it’s interesting to get your take.
        Lynn 😀

Leave a comment