The immortality of the immortals.

Posted On 10 November 2014

Filed under Book Reviews
Tags: , , ,

Comments Dropped 17 responses

Just on the run up to Halloween I read four Vampire books – all proving the popularity and diversity of this type of fiction.

I read probably one of the earliest stories written called The Vampyre by John Polidori.  This is no doubt one of the first stories in which the vampire is portrayed as an aristocrat travelling around and leaving bodies in his wake.  It’s only a short story but very readable particularly in terms of being groundbreaking.  Check out this very interesting piece (which is where I read first about the Polidori story).

My other reads were Fevre Dream by GRRMartin – which whilst I recognise may not be for everyone, as it is undoubtedly rather wordy, I really enjoyed it.  A very deep and well thought out book with plenty of atmosphere.

Generation V by MLBrennan – a series about a relatively young and not yet fully grown into his powers vampire who is still clinging to what semblance of humanity he has left in the face of adversity!  A great start to the series and one that I will definitely continue to read.

The Endangered by S L Eaves – a modern and fast paced story that retells the vampire vs werewolf myth of old and brings a new take to the tale.

On top of this there are countless other vampire stories – both from the romance and horror genres! Bram Stoker’s Dracula has to have a special mention just simply because I love it and there’s a reason it’s a classic – it’s damned good!

The other absolute must read is I am Legend by R Matheson – a fantastic tale with a wicked twist and another very important book in that it probably became the inspiration for the ‘zombie apocalypse’ genre.  BTW – in my opinion the book is undoubtedly superior to the film in this particular instance.  The film is okay as far as being a vampire movie goes, and very easy to watch, but for me it definitely loses something in translation by changing the ending!

Yes, there are loads more ranging from teenage angst ridden vampires (yes, I’m thinking of Edward) to Anne Rice’s Lestat and his tormented companion Louis (‘I was a newborn vampire weeping at the beauty of the night’).  YA vampires set in highschool grounds such as The Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine and Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead (dare I mention the rather lovely Dimitri??) and historical vampire novels that once again portray vampires as downright vile, nasty and evil characters – such as Jasper Kent’s Danilov Quintet.

Basically, vampires are here to stay (which actually sounds a little bit creepy doesn’t it!)  It seems we’re fascinated by them and they adapt and evolve as the years progress in order to ensure their longevity.

Imaginary they may be but their immortality in terms of the written word seems to be assured!

BTW – does anybody have a good sci fi book recommendation that involves vampires???

‘To make you a vampire they have to suck your blood. And then you have to suck their blood. It’s like a whole big sucking thing.’
Buffy – Welcome to the Hellmouth, Buffy the Vampire Slayer

17 Responses to “The immortality of the immortals.”

  1. Colin

    See there I am! Did Paul take that photo?

  2. lisa

    I keep meaning to try Those of my Blood by Jacqueline Lichtenberg, but haven’t gotten to it.

    • lynnsbooks

      Thanks for that – always grateful for suggestions.
      Lynn 😀

  3. nrlymrtl

    Great list of classic vampires and one-day-classic vampires. I too enjoyed I Am Legend and thought the movies (yeah, there are 3 or 4 of them) lost something in translation.

    Simon R. Green has vampires in his epic SF series – Deathstalker. There are perhaps a dozen or more in this series. But great stuff. Also David Lee Summers has a few vampire novels that are interconnected, starting with vampires from ancient times to modern-day vampires running a telescope lab. Pretty cool stuff.

    • lynnsbooks

      Susan, I knew you wouldn’t let me down – duly noted and I will go away and look them up.
      Thanks
      Lynn 😀

  4. Grace

    Oooh, vampires are always fun. Generation V has been on my TBR pile for quite some time now. Glad to hear you enjoyed it!

    • lynnsbooks

      Grace, I think you would enjoy it too. It’s really very readable and I like the concept behind it too. It’s going to be interesting to see how it develops.
      Lynn 😀

  5. Stephen P. Bianchini

    Excellent review Lynn! I am a real fan of I am Legend…For something completely different in style but still quite good: Let the Right One In. Vampires in Stockholm in the 80s.

    • lynnsbooks

      Let the Right One in – is also on my classics list so I will eventually pick that one up!
      Thanks
      Lynn 😀

  6. Maija Reads

    I really like I Am Legend, too! I’m going to reread Dracula soon, since I have a beautiful edition with illustrations by Becky Cloonan, and it’s been a while since I read it. I also recently read Carmilla, which was a great vampire classic – and I really want to read Polidori’s The Vampyre soon. Did you know that Alexandre Dumas used the character of Lord Ruthven later, in a play called Le Vampire (he also did a novelization of it)? Yep, I want to read that one, too.

    Yep, I love vampires. Can’t help it. 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Okay, Carmilla, noted, thanks. And, know I didn’t know that about Dumas – how intriguing. I will definitely look that up. It’s funny how so many of us love the vampire myth! It’s come a long way and yet always manages to find it’s way back to it’s original story sooner or later.
      Lynn 😀

      • Maija Reads

        I just learned about that Dumas book a month or so ago, myself. I saw it in the French book section of a bookstore, and was like… what?! I need to read that!

  7. jessicabookworm

    What an interesting post. I do rather like vampire stories. I really need to read more of your suggestions; particularly Anne Rice’s series and Fevre Dream.

    • lynnsbooks

      I love the way that we as readers have effectively made vampires immortal. It seems like they’ll always be in stories as we have an endless fascination with them. I really enjoyed Rice and GRRM – would highly recommend the Interview story – I’ve only read the first one but I’m also going to read the story about Lestat – he’s just so downright nasty!
      Lynn 😀

  8. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    Fever Dream and I am Legend! Love both! And yes, I am Legend is the must read of the two.

    • lynnsbooks

      Such a shame about the ending change for the film. I think the ending of the book is fantastic.
      Lynn 😀

Leave a comment