“Master has presented Dobby with clothes! Dobby is free!

This week over at the Fantasy Review Barn we’re travelling through the tropes of fantasy again and this time we’re delving into elves:

‘ELVES claims to have been the first people in Fantasyland. They are called the Elder Race. They did not evolve like humans, but sprang into being just as they are now.’

Well, I’m going to admit that I really thought this was going to be a doddle – then I got myself all tangled up in the difference between fae and elves and couldn’t decide if I could have certain examples that I’d chosen or whether they’d count of not! (Doh!!)

Anyways, the two obvious ones: LoTR – there are a LOT of elves in this book to say the least.  Harry Potter – need I mention Dobby!  Really??

My books this week:

The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett – I can’t decide if this is cheating or not because I’m still not sure if I can count these as elves.  I tend to think of them as brownies!  Basically I just don’t know if they count but I love the book so it’s going on the list!

The Mercedes Thompson series by Patricia Briggs – Bone Crossed has a snow elf!  Can’t remember much about the snow elf to be honest – but still, it’s an elf, right?

Puck from Shakespeare’s Midsummer Nights Dream. He is definitely described an an elf so I’m feeling good about this one!

The Blue Girl by Charles de Lint – when I read this book I described the little critters as fey – however, they had very much a brownie feel, and the way that they had to be left gifts of clothing and the like was definitely similar to tales of elves – remember Dobby, not to mention the Elves and the Shoemaker!  I think I rest my case…

My last isn’t a book but if I didn’t mention this, well, it would be unforgivable – Link – from The Legend of Zelda.  He has pointy ears, his weapon of choice is a bow and arrow and he dresses like a woodland type person. Elf!

21 Responses to ““Master has presented Dobby with clothes! Dobby is free!”

  1. Lynn E. O'Connacht

    I wouldn’t worry too much about the definitions. People have been using the terms interchangeably for ages, after all. ^_^

    It sounds like a fun list. ^_^ I hope you had fun making it!

    • lynnsbooks

      I always have fun with this weekly event – you should join in – you’d probably have loads more examples than I have!
      Lynn 😀

      • Lynn E. O'Connacht

        I might collect a few of my favourites to post later, but I’m terrible with participating in events like this consistently. 😦

        This one I could definitely do, though. ^_^ I have a soft spot for elves.

      • lynnsbooks

        Yeah, you should do a post. This is a very relaxed event – in fact if it was any more relaxed it would be in a rip van winkle novel! No pressure at all to post each week – basically you can just cherry pick the ones you like and make yourself look really good!
        Lynn 😀

  2. Nathan

    Ya there are no Tough Travel police around. If someone wants to say Gimli is an elf then no one can stop them.

    Bigjobs! Nae King, Nae Qinn! Feagles!!

    • lynnsbooks

      I love the little blue guys! I just love their way of thinking and speaking. I could literally read the Tiffany Aching series again because it was such good fun.
      Lynn 😀

  3. Bob R Milne

    Awesome – I immediately thought of Link as well, but couldn’t quite figure out how to fit him in.

    • lynnsbooks

      I thought it was a bit of a cheat – but I like a bit of creative cheating. Particularly when I’m struggling with books to come up with. I couldn’t make up my mind if elves were fae or if they should have wings or not. Link is perfect!
      Lynn 😀

  4. jessicabookworm

    Looking at this category I thought I would lots of answers but like you find myself thinking of Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. Years ago I read two books from Terry Brook’s Shannara series I think they had elves in… 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Would that be the Dark Legacy of Shannara by any chance? I’ve just bought the first two and one of them is called the Wards of Faerie??

      Lynn 😀

      • jessicabookworm

        I’m not 100% sure I know the series has been extended more recently. I’ve just checked my father’s old school copies that I read. They are The Sword of Shannara and The Elfstones of Shannara which I think means there’s a good chance elves may be involved 🙂

      • lynnsbooks

        Thanks Jessica 😀

    • Lynn E. O'Connacht

      The Shannara books definitely had elves in them, yes. ^_^ (It’s been ages since I read them, so that’s about as much as I remember about the elves in the books, though.)

      • jessicabookworm

        Thank you Lynn E. 🙂

      • lynnsbooks

        Of course I’ve bought books that are right at the end of the series!! Doh.
        Lynn 😀

  5. Bookwraiths

    A fun list! The Legend of Zelda call was a great one. I never would have thought of it. 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Bit of a cheat – but he really does look like an elf. I love Zelda!
      Lynn 😀

  6. Genki Jason

    Ha! Link! I grew up playing the Legend of Zelda series. I’ve got my Wind Waker edition Gamecube next to me right now!

    I’m going to play it again at some point.

    Beats the elves in Skyrim.

    • lynnsbooks

      Zelda is great! I was happy to get Link on the list. Felt like a bit of a cheat but I figured I’d be forgiven.
      Lynn 😀

  7. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    You have a good memory! I hardly remember a snow elf in Mercy Thompson, but that’s pretty damn cool. And Hylians have pointed ears so yeah I’m gonna say Link is an elf! Ocarina of Time remains one of my all time favorite games ever 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Ah, well, ahem, I’m just going to come clean – I thought there was an elf, I was certain there was an elf – but I couldn’t remember what it was called so I had to look it up. I’m useless with names most of the time – in fact sometimes I almost forget the names of characters as soon as I’ve put the book down. I usually have to go and look them up!
      Lynn 😀

Leave a comment