Books for Fall/Autumn

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic over at The Broke and the Bookish is:

Books on my fall/autumn list:

I think this week’s list is going to be primarily books that I’ve bought that I’ve put off reading because I’ve had other books to review:

  1. The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters – bought
  2. The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton – bought, check out both covers, really good and definitely pulled me in!
  3. Generation V by M L Brennan – bought – looking forward to this one, comes with good recommendations.
  4. The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani – gift – another book that I just love the cover of.
  5. Between Two Fires by Christoperh Buehlman – bought
  6. Red Knight by Miles Cameron – library
  7. The Vanishing Witch by Karen Maitland – review
  8. Theft of Swords by Michael Sullivan – bought
  9. Tower Lord by Anthony Ryan – bought
  10. Traitor’s Blade by Sebastien de Castell – bought, kindle

Let’s face it – I’m probably not going to succeed but it’s nice to have plans, and lists!

These are the two covers from above:

20 Responses to “Books for Fall/Autumn”

  1. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Oh man, so many great books on there that I’m excited you’ll (hopefully!) get to this fall πŸ˜› Generation V and Traitor’s Blade are among my favorites.

    • lynnsbooks

      Yep – I got Generation V from your blog so I’m expecting to love it! Traitor’s Blade I’ve had for ages on kindle but then just kept letting it get knocked down the list – so much badness.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  2. caitlinstern

    The Miniaturist does have an enticing looking cover. Not that I need more books on my TBR list…

    • lynnsbooks

      The cover is lovely isn’t it. I know it’s fickle but that’s really what enticed me!
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  3. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    Yay! Glad to see Between Two Fires on your list! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Actually, I’ve read about half your list, and they are all great picks. (Tower Lord, Traitor’s Blades, Theft of Swords and Red Knight being the others I’ve read).

    • lynnsbooks

      Yes, I seem to have such a lot to look forward to – now I just need one of those remote controls that stops all the time around me so that I can sit in peace and quite, reading!
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  4. Tabitha (Not Yet Read)

    Heck yes I say start with Traitor’s Blade, Generation V and School for Good and Evil! I LOVE these books.

    • lynnsbooks

      Excellent – I think I picked up the School for Good and Evil from your blog tbh so I’m looking forward to it.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

      • Tabitha (Not Yet Read)

        Yes yes yes! I just got another lady in my crochet group to pick it up this week hehe. she was rereading Harry Potter …again!

      • lynnsbooks

        Yeah, read a different book instead of rereading an old one! There are just too many books for rereading. I’m looking forward to it and I love the cover.
        Lynn πŸ˜€

  5. hlmorris85

    I’d be interested to hear what you think of The Paying Guests. Waters is an author I’ve always wanted to like, but her books somehow never live up to expectations for me, and I haven’t read her in awhile. The Miniaturist looks good.

    • lynnsbooks

      I know what you mean about Wates. I do think she has a lovely writing style but I’ve been disappointed with plot points in various of her tales. It will be interesting to read this one. The Miniaturist looks really good and I do love that cover. Plus I saw the doll’s house in the museum in Amsterdam which is probably why it attracted me.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  6. Bookwraiths

    Will be interested to see what you think of The Red Knight. I’ve heard generally good things about it. Hopefully, you enjoy Traitor’s Blade and Theft of Swords as much as I did. They are very different types of fantasy but both are favourites of mine. Good luck with them all. πŸ™‚

    • lynnsbooks

      Traitor’s Blade has such good reviews that I can’t wait to read it.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  7. TheSkepticalReader

    Ohh I just got The Miniaturist on kindle last week. I would love to own the hardback but the kindle version was easier to get…:P

    • lynnsbooks

      I do like the cover I must admit – it won me over! But kindle is just as good – I’m seriously enjoying my kindle more than I thought I ever would.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  8. Sue Holmes

    I loved the School for Good & Evil! I haven’t read any of the others, but they look good too.

    • lynnsbooks

      Nice to have another approving note for this book – I’m looking forward to it.
      Lynn πŸ˜€

  9. jessicabookworm

    I think nearly all bookworms love a good book list to work through…and to add to πŸ™‚

Leave a comment