Tough Travelling to the rescue…

Every Thursday Nathan at the Fantasy Review Barn takes us travelling through the tropes of Fantasy.  This is a really fun weekly event and all are welcome.  This weeks topic is SAVING THE WORLD

SAVING THE WORLD is something many Tours require you to do. You have to defeat the DARK LORD or WIZARDS who are trying to enslave everyone.

‘That is right, we are upping the stakes. I don’t want to see any personal journeys, or tight political thrillers. Next week it is all about emanate destruction. If the world isn’t about to end, or at least going to change in horrible ways for EVERYONE in it, save it for another time.’

I am Legend by Richard Matheson which is one of the first novels to deal with worldwide apocalypse brought about by disease.  Robert Neville is a survivor.  He goes out every day trying to eliminate those who have become the threat.  At the end of the day though – who is the monster??  Threat: virus

Black Feathers by Joseph D’Lacey – a book that deals with environmental impact on a massive scale.  Destruction and the resultant aftermath.  Plus the rise of a new ‘messiah’ type character.  Threat: environmental

Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham.  Following a meteor shower the vast majority of the population are left blind allowing a particularly aggressive plant to attack people across the world.  Another apocalyptic book based on a different threat than virus.   Threat: alien/plant life

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams – following the comic adventures of Arthur Dent and Ford Prefect as they flit through space.  This is a tenuous link based on the start of the book where a Vogun Constructor Fleet blows up the planet earth in order to make way for a new expressway.  Read it and laugh.  Threat: Alien/planet destruction.

Dragonflight by Anne McCaffrey –  the main threat to the world of Pern comes in the form of spores called threads which consume at a voracious rate.  The story is a combination of sci fi and fantasy.  Combining time travel, dragons and imminent threat to the planet.  Threat: plant life/spores

 Okay, I did start off with a rather large list including, unsurprisingly LoTR!!  I tried to narrow it down – after all, nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition.

20 Responses to “Tough Travelling to the rescue…”

  1. Dina

    Very good presentation, Lynn!
    Wishing you a happy day,
    Dina and Klausbernd

    • lynnsbooks

      Thank you Dina and hope you have a great day too.
      Lynn 😀

  2. TBM

    I plan to read the Hitchhiker’s Guide soon. Can you believe I’ve never read it. What’s wrong with me?

    • lynnsbooks

      I read it along time ago and then reread for one of the science challenges – to be honest I picked it back up because it is only a fairly slim read – as it happened though I really enjoyed it all over again. You never quite know with a reread.
      And, there’s nothing wrong with you – there’s just an awful lot of books – and, you’re very busy!
      Lynn 😀

  3. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    Oh, I love I am Legend. I also had Black Feathers, it was just perfect for this week! I also really like how you called out the specific threat on each book! 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      I am Legend – is, actually a legend! I love the ending and it’s one of those books where it really does bug me that the film changed that aspect. It just completely changes the nature of the whole story.
      Lynn 😀

  4. Nathan

    Amongst our weaponry are such diverse elements as fear, surprise, a ruthless efficiency, an almost fanatical devotion to the Pope, and nice red uniforms

    Love the way you labeled the nature of each threat by the way.

    • lynnsbooks

      I love it when somebody quotes back at me!! LOL Don’t get me started with Monty Python or else we’ll have to go through EVERYTHING and it could go on…it would be pretty funny though.
      Lynn 😀

  5. Bookwraiths

    God, I forgot about Pern of all things. How could I have totally overlooked that one? Great list by the way.

    • lynnsbooks

      well, ahem, slightly confession – I only remembered Pern because it was on somebody’s list last week and it jogged my memory (was that you or Nathan)? Pern is a pretty good one for this particular trope – the threads ‘threat’ felt very unique when I first read it – and, I never expected the whole time travel element!
      Lynn 😀

  6. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Haha, I think I’m like the only one who has read Black Feathers and totally forgot to put it on my list this week. This is why others’ lists are so helpful! 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      I must admit that seeing everyone’s lists usually jogs my memory for future tropes – that’s how come I recalled the Pern book this week (it was on lists last week!)
      Lynn 😀

  7. Tabitha (Not Yet Read)

    I love Anne McCaffrey so much and seriously enjoyed I am Legend. The book being totally better then the movie of course. I have yet to read Hitch Hiker but I need to since I love that movie so i can only imagine how much better the book is.

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah, Hitch Hiker is a pretty funny book. I’ve only read the first in the McCaffrey books – have you read all the series?
      Shame about the I am Legend movie ending – I didn’t mind the film, it was okay as films go – I just don’t know why they changed the ending because it changed the whole meaning of the story and the title.
      Lynn 😀

  8. Danya @ Fine Print

    The Day of the Tiffids is such a cool book. Weird, but cool. I always like seeing classics on these posts! I’ve been wanting to read I am Legend for a while now, too. But I’m a bit of a chicken so maybe it’s too scary for me!

    • lynnsbooks

      I think you’d be okay with I am Legend – it’s not scary in the way the movie is. It’s more psychological and very dark. It’s written in a very bleak and stark fashion to be honest – which is why it’s a good job that it’s not a long book otherwise it would become too much (I think anyway). It’s more about watching the way Neville changes and the ending is so unique and quite staggering.
      Lynn 😀

  9. Rabindranauth

    Whoa, awesome picks this week!

  10. cfiel25

    Unfortunately, I am not familiar with any of these books. I’m curious about Dargonflight by Anne McCaffrey though. That cover is not only vibrant but gorgeous as well. Plus, I love dragons. 😀

    • lynnsbooks

      It’s an unusual idea combining not just sci fi and fantasy but a little time travel. I’ve only read the first in series so far.
      Lynn 😀

Leave a comment