Anyways, you need people of intelligence on this sort of… mission… quest… thing.

Posted On 7 August 2014

Filed under Book Reviews

Comments Dropped 21 responses

Every Thursday Nathan hosts Tough Travelling over at the Fantasy Review Barn.  This week we’re going tough travelling through the tropes of: Quest Objects

QUEST OBJECTS can be various, but are quite strictly defined by the Rules. They are:

1. Material Objects. Cups, jewels, orbs, rings, scepters, stones, and swords.

2. Places. Hidden Kingdomes, islands, old ruined cities, stones, temples, valleys and fountains.

3. Persons. Apprentices, hardship, princes.

4. Knowledge. Usually for birthright or magic or both.

Don’t forget to check everyone’s links out as it’s a really great way of finding new unknown books – and, join in yourself, that way you can add to our tbr!!  All welcome.

Without further ado my choices this week are:

Mr Shivers by Robert Bennett.  This is an unusual, dark and creepy book set during the time of the Great Depression.  We follow the exploits of Marcus Connelley as he traverses the country in search of a mysterious scarred man who murdered his daughter.  He is joined in this by a number of other people who have suffered similar losses at the hands of this strange character.  A compelling gothic story, part horror, part thriller that explores the depths that a person will go to in order to catch a monster.  Is the killer really a human??  Not sure if this entirely fits, although it does involve a band of characters in search of one person?

 

 

 

 

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.  A fantastic and imaginative tale set in the future where the inhabitants spend most of their lives in a virtual universe.    The main protagonist is Wade Watts who is looking for the legendary golden egg and secret fortune of the now deceased creator of the Oasis that people now spend the majority of their lives playing inside.  Many people have abandoned the search for the egg and accompanying fortune but a few gamers persist in direct competition with the suits from a huge corporation who are also searching for the loot!

 

 

 

Feast of Souls by Celia Friedman.  The story focuses on magic and the price paid for it’s use.  We are introduced to Khamal who wants to become the the first female magister ever.  She is ambitious and due to her upbringing hard and stony.    Her quest is for knowledge and in particular the greater knowledge of the magic open to her.  Flawed characters and an interesting magic system that operates different between the sexes.

 

 

The Painted Man by Peter Brett.  A fascinating fantasy world that comes alive with demons as the last rays of sunshine set for the evening.  Kept at bay by wards, the nature of which is mostly lost to the people, these demons come in many forms such as rock demons.  The main protagonist for the first book follows Arlen in his quest for knowledge of the lost wards and hopes to become a master in their use.

 

 

 

 

The Sandman, Dolls House, Vol 2 by Neil Gaiman – in which Dream, following his escape from captivity goes in search of his lost possessions.  The recovery of these items takes more than one volume but this was a great addition – particularly the Serial Convention.

 

 

 

Honourable Mentions

Harry Potter – couldn’t resist the search for horcruxes

Lord of the Rings – the quest of all time.

The Hobbit – a double quest for the dwarves and Bilbo – search for the Arken stone and a quest to reclaim their lost home from Smaug

Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson – Jasnah’s search for the hidden city of the Shattered plains

21 Responses to “Anyways, you need people of intelligence on this sort of… mission… quest… thing.”

  1. lipsyy

    Oooh Mr Shivers looks creepy-good!

  2. Nathan

    One – I need to read more from Bennett because he is awesome.
    Two – Nice call on Sandman. I still have the whole series, perhaps I will read it when I finish my Pratchett Reread.

    • lynnsbooks

      Wow – you’re rereading Pratchett – how many books does that involve? Impressive.
      I really like Bennett. He’s a strange mix of gothic, horror, fantasy and sci fi. Very unique.
      Lynn 😀

      • Nathan

        I think the count is 42 books. I am a bit more than halfway through.

      • lynnsbooks

        Wow – and still doing loads of other reading by the look of the blog! You’re actually on your own quest right there.
        Lynn 😀

  3. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    I really want to read Mr. Shivers! And, another Ready Player One entry, that book/quest is just so perfect for this 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      I really enjoyed Ready Player One and it is perfect for this week’s theme.
      I like Bennett – looking forward to reading City of Stairs.
      Lynn 😀

  4. Bookwraiths

    Oh, books I have not read. I feel like a kid in a bakery every time I read this list. More great books to devour. Yum yum. 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Haha, I think we all feel like we’re in a sweet shop with Tough Travel – it’s bad on the TBR!!
      Lynn 😀

  5. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    LOL I love your post title for this week. And I was just telling Tenacious Reader about how I almost put in Ready Player One because I didn’t think anyone would have it on their list! And now there’s two 😀 I totally missed The Painted/Warded Man as well, and here I was trying to come up with knowledge as a quest item…knowledge of wards is so perfect!

    • lynnsbooks

      I wondered if others would have Ready Player One to be honest. I really enjoyed that book – it was so unique.
      I only thought of Brett at the last minute. I still haven’t read his most recent addition to the series. Have you read it?
      Lynn 😀

  6. Rabindranauth

    Awesome list! I haven’t read any of these 😮

  7. Tabitha (Not Yet Read)

    Heck yes Ready Player One is fabulous with questing!

    • lynnsbooks

      Such a good book. I could actually read it again – just to pick up on some of the references again!
      Lynn 😀

  8. Danya @ Fine Print

    Can’t believe I missed Ready Player One, it’s SUCH a perfect fit! I have a copy of The Painted Man sitting on my shelves…maybe I need to make time for that soon. I do love a good quest for knowledge. 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      I thought the Painted Man was a very good start to the series. I’ve read two as well but not continued further – I should give 3 a go – I think I got put off temporarily when the series was expanded from 3 books to 5 – wasn’t sure if there was just going to be lots of filler or not. Anyway, I should just pick it up and get over myself.
      Lynn 😀

  9. Genki Jason

    The Sandman one is a good entry. I know we’ve talked about this one but the serial killer convention was well-imagined and damn creepy.

    Ready Player One sounds a lot like the Mamoru Oshii film Avalon:

    Also sounds like Sword Art Online and Log Horizon but I don’t really like those anime so there 😛

  10. TheSkepticalReader

    OH MY GOD I am currently watching “The Two Towers” and I saw this title…made my day! I love me some Pippin. 😀

    • lynnsbooks

      Fool of a Took!! (I love that and never miss an opportunity to quote LoTR!)
      Lynn 😀

Leave a comment