Once upon a time there was a beautiful princess…

It’s Thursday again which means we’re off travelling through the tropes of fantasy with Nathan from the Fantasy Review Barn.  This week we’re taking a look at Princesses:

PRINCESSES come in two main kinds:

1. Wimps.

2 Spirited and wilful. Spirited Princesses often disguise themselves as boys and invariably marry commoners of sterling worth.

My contributions this week below – and don’t forget to check out the other participants – there are usually some pretty good books floating around this event that you might just want to add to your tbr – another one couldn’t hurt – you know you want to!

Princess Miana – King of Thorns by Mark Lawrence.  Married to Jorg at the tender age of 13 – don’t let her age deceive you.  This young lady is no shrinking violet.  She has been raised a Princess and she certainly acts like it!   She can give Jorg a run for his money.

Princess Aisha – Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff.  Sister to the Shogun – her initial introduction to the story makes her look like a spoiled and pampered princess with long lacquered fingernails, fancy clothes and ladies in waiting.  In truth she is far from this initial impression and for me I would have appreciated the role being developed more.  Stormdancer – Japanese steampunk and griffins – oh yes!   Plus – look at the gorgeous cover!

Princess Eowyn – this is a slight cheat as I’m not totally sure that Eowyn was a princess.  Anyway, it’s LoTR so it has to have an obligatory mention.  Eowyn is the niece of King Theoden.  She dressed as a man in order to ride with the Riders of Rohan and take part in the battle of Pelennor Fields.  She played rather a crucial role as it happens. Suffering the slimy interest of Grima Wormtongue and brought low by the unrequited love of Aragorn – hey lady, take a ticket and join the queue!

Princess Clarice –  The House of the Four Winds by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory.  Clarice dresses as a young man in order to experience travels on her quest to become a master swords woman!  Having 11 other sisters requires that all these princesses can hold their own.  They’re sent into the wild world to learn a trade.  High seas adventures with pirates and sea monsters.  Much fun.

Princess Daenerys Targaryen – Game of Thrones by GRRM – no introduction really needed here methinks.  And, she has three dragons!!!!

That’s it for this week – stopping at five – but I would like to give mentions to Princess Buttercup – can’t miss an opp to throw in the Princess Bride and also Sarah Pinborough’s fairytale retellings Poison/Charm/Beauty – twisted retellings I might add.  Cinderella, Snow White and Sleeping Beauty like you’ve never seen them before!

19 Responses to “Once upon a time there was a beautiful princess…”

  1. Nathan

    I forgot about Miana, she really may have been the highlight of King of Thorns. Did she get a good role in the final book, anyone know?

    • lynnsbooks

      Yeah, she’s still a good character – in one respect it would have been good for the role to be bigger but in another I suppose Jorg did take most of the book space. She certainly wasn’t afraid to stand her ground and I thought was a quite ruthless and astute character herself.
      Lynn 😀

  2. Bookwraiths

    Another great list . . . of books I really need to read. God, I don’t have time to read anymore list I’ve got to get back to reading. Thanks for the list though. 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Haha, these lists are a terrible strain on the tbr!
      Lynn 😀

  3. jessicabookworm

    Some really interesting choices here while I haven’t read most of them but as you know I love Lord of the Rings and I would have totally picked Eowyn as well 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      A tiny cheat I think but worth it because she is such a good character.
      Lynn 😀

  4. Tabitha (Not Yet Read)

    Sounds like you picked some strong tricksy princesses!

  5. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    Oh! Princess Miana! I wish I had thought of her. Great picks!

    • lynnsbooks

      I quite enjoyed the ‘princess’ topic once I got my brain switched on!
      Lynn 😀

  6. Rabindranauth

    So not surprised you included Eowyn 😀 Excellent list!

    • lynnsbooks

      I know – I really have to stop with LoTR! Although she was pretty forward thinking given when she was created.
      Lynn 😀

      • Rabindranauth

        I like your LoTR picks every week! Definitely, she’s one of the most underrated princesses around in my books.

  7. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Yay, I’ve read everything in your list this week! Also, Iove the inclusion of Stormdancer!

    • lynnsbooks

      I need to read No.2!! I love the covers for those books – they are so eye catching.
      Lynn 😀

  8. Danya @ Fine Print

    I’m reading Stormdancer right now (almost done!) and Aisha is AWESOME! Gotta love a conniving royal, right? Very excited to see how her actions play out in Kinslayer.

    • lynnsbooks

      Yes, I need to pick up Kinslayer – not enough time blah blah blah!
      Lynn 😀

  9. Carl V. Anderson

    I totally agree with the inclusion of Eowyn. She rocks!!!

Leave a comment