‘Time is precious and my knife is sharp…’

That’s right, Jean Tannen is back *faints*.  Okay enough of that!

This week we join in the read along for Republic of Thieves being hosted by the lovely Dab of Darkness.  Schedule for rest of read along here (it’s never too late to join in!  ‘Mmm, do, or do not, there is no try’.

I loved getting back into this world.  In fact I read this with a stupid grin on my face for the majority of the time – not a pretty look for me!!  Plus snorting and laughing. (Ladylike at all!)  Lynch has come up with a whole new world of insults that are so funny that I actually think I hurt myself while reading!  So to the Q&A.  Also, people reading this who haven’t read the first two in the Gentlemen Bastard series, really?  Why??  Come on folks get on it – it’s simply too good to miss.  There, that’s my gentle encouragement, plus, we may not be able to be friends if you don’t share my ridiculously out of control and a little over the top love of Lynch – well we probably can but I would so like to talk to you all about these books.  And, there will be spoilers to follow so close your eyes now:

1) We get to reminisce with several old friends in this section – Carlo, Galdo, Chains. How did you like this? Bitter sweet or happy dance? Aww, this was like happy dance followed by sad face, because it is bitter sweet.  I’d get all drawn in and be reading about something and then be brought up sharp by the remembrance that they’re not with us any more.  It really is a guilt trip.  Happy one moment and then feeling almost guilty because you realise it’s only a temporary, short sugar hit of happiness.

2) Finally, the infamous Sabetha makes a physical appearance, albeit in Locke’s reminisces. What are your impressions? How do you think the romance, if there is to be one, will play out?  I think it will play out all on Sabetha’s terms.  Right from square one you can see Locke is in awe and from there onwards they’re never really on a level playing field.  You can also see how competitive and ambitious Sabetha is.  Her and Locke are in a battle of the wills except Locke doesn’t seem to realise it.  It feels like even at this early stage Sabetha is trying to best Locke and yet he so casually seems to achieve things – it must be damned infuriating I suppose and yet she surely knows she has the upper hand in terms of pulling Locke’s strings?

3) After trying absolutely everything to save Locke, Jean still won’t give up. What did you think of that little pep talk he gave Locke concerning Patience’s offer of healing?  It made me well up!  Really it did.  I mean I know I have a soft spot for Jean (okay a bit girly crush) but it was a bit of an eye opener – especially the bit about he’s going to be the last one left.  I had shivers.

4) Locke has a few caveats to working for the Bondsmage. Wise or just Locke grasping for some control over his life? What would you ask Patience? It felt a little bit like grasping at straws really.  As though he knows he doesn’t have any real sway but he’s trying to impose some sort of semblance of having authority.  Mmmm, what would I ask Patience.  That’s very tricksy of you and my mind has gone blank (let’s face it it wasn’t a big step out of character – I just know that everyone is going to come up with all sorts of awesome answers to this and my mind is refusing to comply.  Empty.  Zip!)

5) At the end of this section, we see that all is not as Patience laid it out. How much do you think Patience knows of the plot to off Locke and Jean? Do you see it interfering in the rigged election? Well, I found that exchange totally perplexing – but, as I’ve already read this once I’m not going to comment too much.  What I do remember quite clearly though is being totally clueless by this brief conversation, I mean, it seems that Patience wasn’t involved in whatever the discussion was so it was clear to me then that she wasn’t involved but I genuinely didn’t know and so just raced on to try and find out.

On a separate note – we got to go back to the tunnels and is anybody else finding themselves picturing Fagin from Oliver when they read the

Ron Moody's Fagin or the Thiefmaker??

Ron Moody’s Fagin or the Thiefmaker??

Thiefmaker.  I just can’t help it and more to the point I’m seeing and hearing the actor Ron Moody – which is no bad thing because he owned that role. (I have a strange sense of deja vu from prior readalong with this).

“Sad day, my loves, a proper tragedy but when the milk’s gone bad you might as well look forward to cheese, hmmm?’

Also, I couldn’t help myself from highlighting a few things here and there:

‘A real smirking rat fucker’ – had me in stitches

‘sweet dancing donkey shit’; and

‘slower than an underwater fart’! – Yes, I will use this.

Also, I can confirm that Jean is still my book crush.  I hope you realise how loyal I am to stay so dedicated for this length of time – let’s face it though he’s just a hunk!  And he get’s some of the best lines which means he’s pretty funny as well! (Hah, caveman, wise-cracking bad ass! – what more could you possibly want?)

25 Responses to “‘Time is precious and my knife is sharp…’”

  1. Grrr. Lisaargh. (@EffingRainbow)

    Argh, I forgot answer the question about asking Patience questions… Though to be honest I think the main one in my head for her at any given time would probably boil down to “WTF?” 😉

    Again, I’ve got so much agreement with you here. *Takes a moment to flutter over Jean* Ahem! 😀

    • lynnsbooks

      Ahh, the delightful Jean. I couldn’t think of anything to ask Patience – I’m such an amoeba sometimes!
      Lynn 😀

  2. Redhead

    it was “happy dance” all the way for me when I got to hang out with the Sanza twins again. Yes, they aren’t with us anymore, but all I have to do is read the beginning of Lies and I have them alive again. yeeek, Schrodinger’s characters? both alive and dead at the same time, forget the box, it just depends on what page you on.

    here’s my comments, and I’ve started working on collecting links too!

    The Republic of Thieves read along, part 1

    • lynnsbooks

      I know, the Sanzas are so funny – ‘what’s that on your chin? My fist!’ It does feel like I’m in some sort of weird sci fi film – especially as the book continues!

      Stopping round to see everyone’s comments now.

      Lynn 😀

      • jomafantasy

        The Sanzas are out of control! those two I bet get under Chains’ skin so much growing up. I can wait to find out more of there young and terrorizing humor. I can see how some sic fi effect can happen in this book. Like the Eldren??

        Here are my answers— http://jomafantasy.wordpress.com/2013/10/28/republic-of-thieves-read-along-part-i/

      • lynnsbooks

        I really want to know more about the Eldren – it’s totally fascinating. I wonder whether the people with magic somehow owe it to the Eldren in some way. It will be interesting to find out.
        The Sanzas are so funny – they seem to be getting on each nerves more than any one else’s though. I think it’s the whole twin thing and trying to find their own separate identity whilst living in such close quarters.
        Lynn 😀

    • Grace

      Haha, love the “Schrodinger’s characters”! That is how I will think of them from now on.

  3. Jennifer | Book Den

    I’m happy dancing. I’m thinking of it as a way for them to be alive again.

    I wish we could see Sabetha’s point of view. She’s a very smart girl.

    I love your crush on Jean. 🙂 His pep talk was a chilling moment. I read it just last night, and I’m still feeling it today.

    I haven’t read past this section. It does feel like Patience is not involved, but who knows what to think when you are dealing with Bondsmagi.

    • lynnsbooks

      I know, those Bonsmagi are such a tricky untrustworthy bunch! I agree that it doesn’t seem like Patience is involved and though I’ve read further on that was my initial thought. I have got such a big book crush on Jean that it’s quite ridiculous! If they ever make these books into films they better get the casting right!!
      Lynn 😀

  4. Genki Jason

    Everybody still has a crush on Jean…

    I thought the exchange between the Bondsmagi made sense especially since they can communicate via telepathy. The convo seemed to indicate that forces stronger than Patience were moving against Locke. Typical Bondsmagi, less trustworthy than thieves.

    Locke and Sabetha’s relationship is going to be dicey. So far Sabetha stacks up as your rote fantasy tough girl. She’s a serious minded character and can handle herself and is generally more intelligent than others. What makes this different is that she will be competing against Locke, a person who seems pre-ordained by the Gods to be a master thief who holds the fate of the world in his hands… or something…

    Oh, btw, the reason there’s a gap between me liking this post and commenting on it is because I had to rush out of the house to watch Captain Phillips!

    • lynnsbooks

      Haha, – with the rushing out of the house! That’s what I was like this morning. Plus going out now (book signing Robin Hobb!) So will be checking out everyone’s posts in a bit!
      Lynn 😀
      and yes – everyone still has a crush on the lovely Jean!! He’s such a hunk..

  5. Grace

    Love the curses. They make me smile, and are one of the reasons why I find these books so full of win.

    • lynnsbooks

      I actually started bookmarking all the curses and insults but it turned out it would have been quicker to highlight the other text!
      Very amusing.
      Lynn 😀

  6. Ines

    I think I might have a crush on Jean as well. 🙂 and I love it.

    I couldn’t come up with a question for Patience either – you’re right though, other people came up with some really good ones.

    • lynnsbooks

      Jean is a hunk isn’t he. Perfect mind candy. Let’s face it he’s a big piece of man, he’s handy with a couple of hatchets and he reads. (So he has a lovely sensitive side too – and we all know how stubbornly loyal he is – could you possibly really ask for any more?)
      I couldn’t think of any for Patience at all and then everyone else has to come up with all the witty answers! I totally knew that would happen.
      I’m glad I’m not absolutely alone.
      Lynn 😀

  7. tethyanbooks

    I guess Locke did pretty much hand her all the power, when it became clear that he was infatuated with her. That’s not the best ever launching pad for a relationship, but maybe he’ll mature a little in the flashbacks? Ah, who am I kidding :). For Sabetha’s side, I know how irritating it can be when you know that every little thing you do or say takes on Great Significance in the mind to the person who’s crushing on you, so her power over him definitely comes with its complications.

    I was also pretty clueless about that last conversation, so I’m glad I was not the only one!

    • lynnsbooks

      Haha, imagine Locke maturing (like a good wine hey!) Yeah, their relationship is too one sided and it’s not just that it’s one sided there’s just too much imbalance. Plus, he keeps just agreeing with her just to keep the peace – can you think of anything more annoying. If somebody has a different opinion or thinks they’re right about something then bring it on and try and convince me, don’t just agree for the sake of not arguing – does that make me very argumentative? It must be actually pretty frustrating for Sabetha.
      No idea with that last conversation (this is a reread so probably now I have more context but first time round totally stumped).
      Lynn 😀

  8. Rose's Thingamajig

    I somehow managed to keep the sad face in check with the flashbacks. Even though I know the ends some of the Gentlemen Bastards met, it didn’t really occur to me to be sad about that, I was too busy laughing and trying to clap my hands together while holding my book…

    • lynnsbooks

      Haha, clapping and holding a book – a bit like skiing and painting your nails (not that I ever try either).
      I know what you mean. On reflection and answering the questions, well, yes, I’m kind of sad for these characters and the fact that they’re no longer around in terms of the stories but whilst I was reading I did get swept up with all the entertainment – it was only really now and again that it would occur to me.
      Lynn 😀

  9. nrlymrtl

    From that little scene on the bridge between Sabetha and Locke, I can see that she is definitely competitive, and a planner (where Locke is really more of a doer). Still, she did try to ‘rescue’ Locke when she honestly thought he was being hauled off.

    I’m doing the audiobook, and the insults are very, very funny! Yes, I too intend to use ‘slower than an underwater fart’ because the visual is both pretty while the smellovision is repulsive.

    • lynnsbooks

      It was very touching with Sabetha tried to save Locke – she threw away her advantage after all – perhaps that’s why Chains declared it a draw. Maybe he thought she should have played hard ball?? I must confess I would love to hear the voice that’s been chosen for Jean – tell me AAALLLLL about it! pretty please…
      Lynn 😀

  10. suecccp

    Yep – I had the goofy grin as well! 😀

    2. Locke does seem to have an unnatural capacity for thievery and confidence tricks, but Sabetha is also very talented: I am quite sure that Chains would not spend so much money on her education if he didn’t see some potential.

    Ron Moody’s Fagan is probably the right look for the Thiefmaker, but I am not so sure that Fagan was quite so violent . . . but perhaps I am misremembering.

    • lynnsbooks

      No, I don’t think you’re misremembering, Fagan was not quite so violent – although his best buddy Bill made up for the fact.
      I think, for me the main difference between Sabetha and Locke is that she is so much more driven than Locke, which, in a way, in spite of the fact that she’s really good, really quick, and super intelligent, makes her look like she’s having to work so much harder somehow. Locke seems to have a certain sort of nonchalance (which makes things look easy – although appearances could be deceptive).
      Can’t wait for Part II – return of the goofy grin!
      Lynn 😀

  11. The Republic of Thieves read-along part 1 | Violin in a Void

    […] The Effing Rainbow Dab of Darkness Lynn’s Book Blog Tethyan Books Just Book Reading Genkinahito’s Blog Book Den Theft and Sorcery Many A True Nerd […]

Leave a comment